Pirelli Motorsport has revealed compound choices for the first four F1 races with Australian GP, Bahrain GP, Vietnam GP and Chinese GP.

With the confirmation of F1 keeping the 2019 tyres in 2020 season, Pirelli released details of the compound choices for the first four races as per the deadline. As in 2019, the Italian manufacturer will provide C1, C2, C3, C4 and C5 tyres to the teams.

There is no changes or alterations as such with Pirelli keeping the same tyres as was seen during the 2019 F1 season. The new names for the compounds was introduced in 2019 to simply the process for the fans and it achieved its target to a certain extent.

Fans talked about tyres as hard, medium and soft, which was the aim, even though the compounds were different for different grand prix. The naming system is to continue in 2020 as well, as the initial list is revealed for the teams to select the number of tyres.

The Australian GP will have C2 as hard (white), C3 as medium (yellow) and C4 as soft (red), while the remaining three F1 races i.e Bahrain GP, the new Vietnam GP and Chinese GP to feature the same three compounds as Australia as per Pirelli.

As known, each driver must save one set of the softest of the three nominated compounds for Q3. This set will then be returned for those who qualify in the Top 10, but the remaining drivers will keep it for the race. Also, each driver must have both race sets available for the grand prix and teams are free to choose the remaining 10 sets, making 13 sets in total for the weekend.

2020 F1 compound choices:

Australian GP – C2, C3, C4

Bahrain GP – C2, C3, C4

Vietnam GP – C2, C3, C4

Chinese GP – C2, C3, C4

Here’s the confirmation on F1 retaining 2019 Pirelli tyres for 2020

Mercedes completes 18-inch F1 tyre test with Russell in Abu Dhabi