As we gear towards the 2022 F1 season, compiles the list of drivers of their contract as they stand and superlicense penalty points.

With the signing of Lando Norris until the 2025 season and Daniel Ricciardo stating that he has another year with McLaren after 2022, it fixates several top seats for the 2023 season leaving the midfield pack and few ‘big’ outfit seats available in the new season.

Norris, in fact, has the longest deal among the pack with the next best for Esteban Ocon, Charles Leclerc and Valtteri Bottas until 2024. These are the only four drivers having got a seat for more years beyond 2023 – although they may end early in extreme cases.

While some are happy with the long-term situation, there are about 11 drivers with no deal beyond the 2022 season which includes Lance Stroll, whose extent is unknown at the moment. Since Aston Martin is his father’s F1 team, it is not clear how many years he has.

Here’s the list which includes the years:

2025 –

Lando Norris, McLaren

2024 –

Esteban Ocon, Alpine

Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo

2023 –

Max Verstappen, Red Bull

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes

Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren

Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri (parent signing with Red Bull)

George Russell, Mercedes (likely since multi-year deal but years not defined)

2022 –

Nicholas Latifi, Williams

Mick Schumacher, Haas

Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri

Sergio Perez, Red Bull

Carlos Sainz, Ferrari

Nikita Mazepin, Haas

Guanyu Zhou, Alfa Romeo

Fernando Alonso, Alpine

Alexander Albon, Williams

Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin

Lance Stroll, Aston Martin (unknown extent)

Moving on from the contract deal, the F1 drivers have to be wary of race bans too with the superlicense points collected over the course of the 2021 season. While Hamilton lowered his points, his rival Verstappen collected seven points like teammate Perez.

The driver with the most points is Tsunoda, whereas Russell and Ocon form the lower end of the list. In all, there are 16 drivers with penalty points from 2021 but two of them – Kimi Raikkonen (2) and Antonio Giovinazzzi (3) – are not racing this year in F1 to add any.

Here’s the full list along with the next date/race of points omission:

Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri – 8 (1 point, after 2022 Australian GP)

Sergio Perez, Red Bull – 7 (2 points, after 2022 Australian GP)

Max Verstappen, Red Bull – 7 (2 points, after 2022 Italian GP)

Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin – 6 (3 points, during 2022 Saudi Arabian GP)

Nikita Mazepin, Haas – 6 (1 point, after 2022 Emilia Romagna GP)

Nicholas Latifi, Williams – 6 (3 points, after 2022 Monaco GP)

Lando Norris, McLaren –  5 (3 points, after 2022 Monaco GP)

Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo – 5 (2 points, after 2022 Canadian GP)

Lance Stroll, Aston Martin – 3 (1 point, after 2022 Australian GP)

Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri – 3 (1 point, after 2022 Miami GP)

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes – 2 (2 points, during 2022 Canadian GP)

Fernando Alonso, Alpine – 2 (2 points, after 2022 Japanese GP)

George Russell, Mercedes – 1 (1 point, after 2022 Austrian GP)

Esteban Ocon, Alpine – 1 (1 point, after 2022 Italian GP)

Here’s F1 2022 start times

Here’s details of F1 launches, filming, fire-up