Will Palmer (R-ace GP) and Sacha Fenestraz (Tech 1 Racing) will start from pole position this weekend in the Formula Renault Eurocup at Monaco. On Saturday, The Briton will line up ahead of the Frenchman on the grid before the roles are reversed on Sunday for race 2, which will be the curtain raiser for the F1 Grand Prix. Series leader Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP) will start both races from third on the grid following the penalty handed down at Pau to Red Bull Junior Team driver Daniel Ticktum (Arden Motorsport, the highest placed rookie in qualifying.

Group A – Will Palmer in control

The first to leave the pits, Will Palmer made the most of a clear track to set the first time before being challenged by Alexey Korneev (Fortec Motorsports), Alex Peroni (Fortec Motorsports), Richard Verschoor (MP Motorsport) and Daniel Ticktum.

On top of the time sheet when it came time to switch to new tyres, Will Palmer improved to a session best 1:30.896 to lock up the pole ahead of his countryman Daniel Ticktum. Alex Peroni, who received a two place penalty on the starting grid of race one like Daniel Ticktum, Richard Verschoor and Alexey Korneev, completed the top five.

Group B – A new track record for Sacha Fenestraz

Robert Shwartzman and Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing) swapped best time before Sacha Fenestraz moved to the top of the time sheet. The Frenchman held just until the chequered flag despite the efforts of the leader in the general classification.

After Najiy Ayyad bin Abd Razak (Fortec Motorsports) made slight contact, which invoked the virtual safety car, Sacha Fenestraz improved to 1:30.776 then made contact with the guard rail at the exit of Piscine then concluded his session with a spin at Rascasse. Nevertheless he led from Robert Shwartzman, Max Defourny (R-ace GP), Gabriel Aubry and Alex Vartanyan (JD Motorsport) at the end of qualifying.