The second and last testing session in Paul Ricard has had dry track and optimal conditions during the entire morning and part of the afternoon. Anthoine Hubert was the fastest driver of the day after setting a 1:48.674, which ended up being the fastest lap from both days, during the morning session.

The test began in the morning and the Trident cars were the first ones to go on track. The ARTs did not take long to follow their steps. Just a few minutes after the season began, Nikita Mazepin beat the best time from Wednesday, which had been set by Jake Hughes.

At the middle of the session, another ART driver, Callum Ilott, was the first one to improve to a 1:48 lap, which put him on the lead for almost an hour. With 40 minutes to go until the lunch pause, Hubert set the 1:48.674 that became the best lap of the day. Ilott kept his second place, followed by Leonardo Pulcini, Mazepin, Tatiana Calderón and HughesPedro Piquet, Trident driver who has not been confirmed for the season yet, ended in tenth place and was the busiest driver, with 54 laps.

When the afternoon arrived, the drivers focused more on long runs and race pace rather than on beating the morning times. Ilott set the best time of the session, which was half a second behind the one Hubert had set in the morning.

On the last stages of the day, rain ruined any option to improve the times, but it did not stop the drivers from going on track with the rain tyres.

And that brings the first days of GP3 testing in 2018 to an end. The Jerez Circuit will hold the next testing sessions, which are scheduled for the 14th and 15th of March. The season will start the 12th of May at the Barcelona Catalunya Circuit.

Final results (morning session):

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 1:48.674 37
2 Callum Ilott ART Grand Prix 1:48.761 41
3 Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing 1:49.051 37
4 Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix 1:49.180 37
5 Tatiana Calderon Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.209 38
6 Jake Hughes ART Grand Prix 1:49.326 31
7 Alessio Lorandi Trident 1:49.434 53
8 Simo Laaksonen Campos Racing 1:49.643 37
9 Dorian Boccolacci MP Motorsport 1:49.721 28
10 Pedro Piquet Trident 1:49.729 54
11 Julien Falchero Arden International 1:49.760 40
12 Niko Kari MP Motorsport 1:49.777 29
13 Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:49.861 35
14 Ryan Tveter Trident 1:49.892 48
15 Juan Manuel Correa Jenzer Motorsport 1:49.902 45
16 Gabriel Aubry Arden International 1:49.969 35
17 Diego Menchaca Campos Racing 1.50.017 25
18 David Beckmann Jenzer Motorsport 1:50.096 45
19 Joey Mawson Arden International 1:50.146 39
20 Leonard Hoogenboom MP Motorsport 1:51.132 24