Graham Rahal has completely dominated race 1 of Verizon IndyCar Series at Belle Isle for the Detroit Grand Prix. The American put a great performance starting from pole position. Scott Dixon and James Hinchcliffe completed the podium.

The month of May might be over but not the American racing with the traditional visit of IndyCar double header at Belle Isle, Detroit (Michigan) the city that breath racing, with Team Penske owner Roger Penske as a host of the race with Chevrolet.

At the start of the race, James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports) spun off at turn 2 alone, causing the first Caution of the race with the Canadian could avoid losing the lead gap, managed to get into the pits along with his team mate, Mikhail Aleshin on lap 2, to drive without traffic, the same strategy was used for Oriol Servià (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing).

The race was resumed on lap 3, Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) was leading the way ahead of Helio Castroneves (Team Penske), Takuma Sato (Andretti Autosport) and Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing).

The strategy today was to stop two or three times.  In the lead, we saw how Team Penske drivers decided to do three pit stops along with SPM, while Rahal, Sato, Rossi and Dixon decided to go for two, which was the good one.

On lap 25 after the first pit stops, Castroneves was leading ahead of Newgarden (Team Penske) who joined the pit for second time during a second Caution period, caused by a contact between Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Conor Daly (A.J. Foyt Enterprises).

This helped Newgarden to loos less time, while Castroneves decided to stay on track. After the 2nd and 3rd’s pit stops, Rahal was in the lead with 8.7 seconds of gap ahead of Dixon, Hinchliffe was third, ahead of Rossi and Newgarden, Castroneves was down to 9th 27 seconds behind Rahal.

In the final laps, Newgarden overtook Rossi for fourth position, while Chilton (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Sato had to join the pit lane.

Rahal took his first victory of the season, which is a good way to finish the problems that he had during the first half of the season. It’s a Honda victory once again with the whole podium with Honda entry. Newgarden is the first Chevrolet finishing on third position.

In the championship standings, Dixon is taking the lead again with two points more than Castroneves. Sato is third with 17 points less than the Kiwi, followed by Pagenaud –27 points less, and Rossi -55 points less.


Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racin 70 Laps
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 6,147
3 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 9,169
4 Josef Newgarden Team Penske 10,093
5 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta Autosport 25,556
6 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 31,364
7 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 33,105
8 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport 47,47
9 Ed Jones R Dale Coyne Racing 53,653
10 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing 54,073
11 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing 55,255
12 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 58,34
13 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport 59,135
14 Carlos Muñoz A. J. Foyt Enterprises 60,731
15 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing 61,959
16 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske 62,149
17 JR Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing 66,071
18 Will Power Team Penske 1 Lap
19 Esteban Gutiérrez R Dale Coyne Racing 1 Lap
20 Oriol Servià Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racin 1 Lap
21 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing 1 Lap
22 Conor Daly A. J. Foyt Enterprises Retired