The Euroformula Open (EF Open) has announced three new teams joining the grid to make it a total of eight for the 2019 season.

After announcing the addition of HWA, Piedrafita and Spiess as the three new companies to provide the motor to the different outfits in the 2019 season, the organisers of the EF Open series has revealed the eight teams to take part in the championship as well.

The entry list expands to eight from six with the addition of three new outfits in the series. From 2018, five of the six teams will continue to race in the championship with reigning champions RP Motorsport (Italy) leading the way.

The four other includes Carlin Motorsport (UK), Teo Martin Motorsport (Spain), Campos Racing (Spain) and Drivex School (Spain). Among the new teams, two hail from the UK with Double R Racing and CF Racing joining the grid.

The third is Greece-based Tsimpras Motorsport. The details regarding the motors the different teams will be using is still to be revealed along with the drivers with only Drivex having already announced Rui Andrade for the 2019 season.

The organisers have also indicated that more teams are interested to join but whether they make it to the final list, it remains to be seen. The sixth year of the EF Open series will take place at nine venues with 18 races in all.

The season starts at Paul Ricard (France) on April 27-29, followed by races in Pau (France, May 18-19), Hockenheim (Germany, May 25-26), Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium, June 8-9), Hungaroring (Hungary, July 6-7), Red Bull Ring (Austria, July 13-14), Silverstone (UK, September 7-8), Barcelona (Spain, September 21-22) and Monza (Italy, October 12-13).