Yesterday, the FIA released the names of the 10 teams entered to take part in the third season of the FIA Formula E Championship, which gets underway in Hong Kong on October 9.

Eight of the 10 teams have been involved right from the very beginning of the world’s first fully-electric single-seater series, even if some have undergone a name change since then. The new entries come courtesy of Jaguar, the company choosing Formula E to mark its return to motorsport after an absence of over a decade, and the Chinese Techeetah team, that took over Team Aguri’s entry and is owned by China Media Capital, a public equity and venture capital firm based in Shanghai. Another new name is that of Faraday Future, an advanced mobility company with headquarters in Silicon Valley and Southern California (USA), which has entered into a new technological partnership with Dragon Racing.

The 10 teams entered are:

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport

Andretti Formula E

Faraday Future Dragon Racing

DS Virgin Racing

Jaguar Racing

Mahindra Racing


Renault e.Dams


Venturi Formula E

Also announced yesterday are the names of the nine constructors whose powertrains have been homologated for season three.

Manufacturer/Car model

ABT Schaeffler – ABT Schaeffler FE02

Andretti Technologies – ATEC-02

DS-Virgin – DSV-02

Jaguar – Jaguar I-Type 1

Mahindra – M3 ELECTRO

NextEV TCR – NextEV TCR Formula 002

Penske – 701-EV

Renault – Z.E. 16

Venturi – VM200-FE-02

FIA Formula E Press Release