Dennis Olsen got to the highest point of the podium in Motorland this morning, after winning third race for Formula Renault 2.0. Hubert and Oskoui complete TOP3 after multiple incidents caused by heavy rain.

After Formula Renault 3.5 qualifying session rain got to Alcañiz. Quickly, mechanics set rain tires in all cars and waited until the start of the race, moment in which rain intensified so much.

Besides, Sørensen received the fact that he had been added 20 seconds to the last race, losing his P10 to P21.

When race started water covered all the main straight. Jack Aitken set himself behind Olsen, who still maintained position, taking profit from Barnicoat bad start, leaving him in P6 when getting to the first turn.

Behind the leads, Sørensen, D’Agosto and Barnicoat were battling for their positions, but in the hardest braking point drivers from Fortec and Manor had a touch leaving both out of the competition. A shame for both drivers, who after starting from first and second line had to retire in the very first lap.

Competition was going on with Olsen suffering from Aitken’s attacks, stronger from time to time but still unable to catch the lead. Six minutes after the start of the race both Strakka Racing stopped in two different locations, with Eastwood’s in middle of the track and forcing Safety Car intervention.

When both cars retired, it seemed like race was ready to be restarted, but then a move between several drivers left Sashara out of the race, leaving Safety Car still on track.

During this neutralisation period rain was still intensifying from time to time. Visibility was so limited and drivers were constantly making strange moves as they doubted from what they had in front. Soon this led to an accident, when with Safety Car again ready to leave and lights closed Kodric crashed heavily into Aitken and D’Agosto.

Despite the crash, Aitken, the most affected one, could exit the cockpit safe and sound. The accident, though, left the track so dirty Olsen won the race after the Safety Car.


Third race results:

Pos. Car Driver Team
1 17 Dennis Olsen Manor MP Motorsport
2 22 Anthoine Hubert Tech 1 Racing
3 10 Darius Oskoui ART Junior Team
4 7 Callan O’Keeffe Fortec Motorsports
5 26 James Allen Arta Engineering
6 14 Louis Delétraz Josef Kaufmann Racing
7 15 Kevin Jörg Josef Kaufmann Racing
8 27 Harrison Scott AVF
9 35 Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport
10 28 Matthew Graham AVF
11 37 Amaury Bonduel JD Motorsport
12 8 Luke Chudleigh Fortec Motorsports
13 2 Jack Hughes Koiranen GP
14 25 Amaury Richard Arta Engineering
15 40 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP
16 42 Henrique Chaves AVF
17 36 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport
18 41 Zachary Claman de Melo Fortec Motorsports
19 21 Simon Gachet Tech 1 Racing
20 1 Anton De Pasquale Koiranen GP
21 20 Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing
22 3 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP
23 19 Ignazio D’Agosto Manor MP Motorsport
24 5 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports
25 9 Ukyo Sashara ART Junior Team
26 31 Charlie Eastwood Strakka Racing
27 32 Valentin Hasse-Clot Strakka Racing
28 18 Lasse Sørensen Manor MP Motorsport
29 6 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports