Enzo Fittipaldi will make his racing return from last year’s injury racing in FIA Formula 2 (F2) Championship with Charouz Racing System.

Fittipaldi injured his legs during the startline incident in Saudi Arabia last year and subsequently missed the other races there and also the Abu Dhabi weekend. He stayed back in hospital for weeks before flying out to home in America.

He has been rehabilitating since then and has now confirmed his plans to return to F2 in 2022 with Charouz alongside Cem Bolukbasi. The Brazilian’s confirmation leaves only one spot remaining to be filled for the new season at Trident.

“For me, it’s a pleasure and an honour to be able to continue my adventure in Formula 2 with Charouz Racing System,” said Fittipaldi. “Last season they gave me the opportunity to debut in this category after a good first part of the season in Formula 3 and this will allow me and the team to work immediately on the performance as from the first test sessions.

“It will be a long and demanding championship and the level of competitiveness has never been as high as this year, so it’s a great advantage not to have to spend the first testing days to get familiar with the car. We definitely aim to be a regular presence in the top 10 positions, and we’ll certainly try to seize every opportunity to get some podium finishes and maybe some wins.”

Meanwhile, Team Owner Antonin Charouz added: “The team and I are delighted to be able to work again with Enzo for this coming season. Last year, he proved that he deserved the chance to step up from Formula 3 to Formula 2, despite the bad luck that hit him at Jeddah.

“Now that he’s back in shape I’m sure this will only motivate him further to show what he’s capable of. Starting the season in an environment with which he is already familiar is certainly an advantage for both the team and the driver, and we will try in every way to take advantage of this condition to find the speed and be in the top 10 right away.”

2022 F2 line-up so far:

UNI-Virtuosi Racing: Jack Doohan, Marino Sato

MP Motorsport: Clement Novalak, Felipe Drugovich

Campos Racing: Ralph Boschung, Olli Caldwell

Carlin: Logan Sargeant, Liam Lawson

DAMS: Roy Nissany, Ayumu Iwasa

ART GP: Theo Pourchaire, Frederik Vesti

Charouz Racing System: Cem Bolukbasi, Enzo Fittipaldi

Trident: Calan Williams

Prema: Jehan Daruvala, Dennis Hauger

Hitech GP: Juri Vips, Marcus Armstrong

Van Amersfoort Racing: Jake Hughes, Amaury Cordeel