Toyota Gazoo Racing took a thrilling victory in the opening round of the 2017 FIA World Endurance Championship at Silverstone this afternoon.

Kazuki Nakajima, Sébastien Buemi and Anthony Davidson took Toyota’s 11th victory in the WEC after a frantic contest which had drama throughout the six hours.

Buemi made a move on Brendon Hartley with just 12 minutes remaining of the six hours to seal the victory and, in doing so, the Toyota drivers also claimed the famous and historic RAC Tourist Trophy.

It was Toyota’s 11th victory in the WEC and perhaps its most hard-earned after rain, two Full Course Yellow and one Safety Car period bunched up the field in the fourth hour after Jose-Maria Lopez crashed his Toyota TS050 HYBRID at Copse Corner.

The pole-sitting #7 Toyota had led in stages during the first two hours but after one of several light showers dampened the circuit, the Argentinian WEC newcomer slid off track and crashed into the tyre barriers. Incredibly, the car made it back to the pits and eventually returned to action to be classified fourth in LMP1. Lopez was taken for precautionary checks to the local hospital but was later released with a clean bill of health.

Porsche took the fight to Toyota and recorded second and third positions, but were always in with a chance of a surprise victory throughout the afternoon. Timo Bernhard, Brendon Hartley and Earl Bamber took second position in the #2 919 Hybrid as the team tried to maximise their low-downforce package, which was at a disadvantage compared to Toyota’s high-downforce bodywork kit.

But Toyota proved slightly too strong and when Buemi emerged from the pits with fresh Michelins for the final thirty minutes it was only a matter of time before he hunted down and overtook Hartley.

Nick Tandy, Neel Jani and André Lotterer claimed third position after being amidst the lead battle for three-quarters of the race in their #1 Porsche.

Jackie Chan DC Racing takes well-judged LMP2 win

LMP2 saw the newly named Jackie Chan DC Racing trio of Oliver Jarvis, Thomas Laurent and Ho-Pin Tung take a hard-earned win in the category which entered a new and exciting era with more powerful cars this weekend.

JOTA-Sport run Jackie Chan DC Racing became the first Chinese entered team to win a WEC race when the order was shaken up after the Full Course Yellow and Safety Car periods.

The team took advantage and won by almost 20-seconds from the Vaillante Rebellion trio of Bruno Senna, Nicolas Prost and Julien Canal.

Reigning champions Signatech Alpine (Nicolas Lapierre, Matt Rao and Gustavo Menezes) led the most laps in class but slipped back and eventually claimed fourth position behind the TDS Racing ORECA-Gibson driven by Mathieu Vaxivière, Emmanuel Collard and François Perrodo.

50,200 fans enjoyed the warm and welcoming presence of the WEC at Silverstone this weekend, and the championship now moves on to Belgium for the second round, the WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on Saturday 6th May.


Pos Class Team Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 Gap
1 LMP1-H Toyota Gazoo Racing Sébastien BUEMI Anthony DAVIDSON Kazuki NAKAJIMA 6:00’33.211
2 LMP1-H Porsche LMP Team Timo BERNHARD Earl BAMBER Brendon HARTLEY 6.173
3 LMP1-H Porsche LMP Team Neel JANI André LOTTERER Nick TANDY 46.956
4 LMP2 Jackie Chan DC Racing Ho-Pin TUNG Oliver JARVIS Thomas LAURENT 13 Laps
5 LMP2 Vaillante Rebellion Julien CANAL Nicolas PROST Bruno SENNA 13 Laps
6 LMP2 TDS Racing François PERRODO Matthieu VAXIVIERE Emmanuel COLLARD 13 Laps
7 LMP2 Signatech Alpine Matmut Nicolas LAPIERRE Gustavo MENEZES Matthew RAO 14 Laps
8 LMP2 G-Drive Racing Roman RUSINOV Pierre THIRIET Alex LYNN 14 Laps
9 LMP2 CEFC Manor TRS Racing Tor GRAVES Jonathan HIRSCHI Jean-Eric VERGNE 14 Laps
10 LMP2 CEFC Manor TRS Racing Roberto GONZALEZ Simon TRUMMER Vitaly PETROV 15 Laps
11 LMP2 Jackie Chan DC Racing David CHENG Alex BRUNDLE Tristan GOMMENDY 15 Laps
12 LMP2 Vaillante Rebellion Mathias BECHE David HEINEMEIER HANSSON Nelson PIQUET JR 25 Laps
13 LMGTE Pro Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK Andy PRIAULX Harry TINCKNELL Luis Felipe DERANI 26 Laps
14 LMGTE Pro AF Corse James CALADO Alessandro PIER GUIDI 26 Laps
15 LMGTE Pro Porsche GT Team Richard LIETZ Frédéric MAKOWIECKI 26 Laps
16 LMGTE Pro Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK Stefan MÜCKE Olivier PLA Billy JOHNSON 26 Laps
17 LMGTE Pro AF Corse Davide RIGON Sam BIRD 27 Laps
18 LMGTE Pro Aston Martin Racing Nicki THIIM Marco SØRENSEN Richie STANAWAY 27 Laps
19 LMGTE Pro Aston Martin Racing Darren TURNER Jonathan ADAM Daniel SERRA 29 Laps
20 LMGTE Am Clearwater Racing Weng Sun MOK Keita SAWA Matt GRIFFIN 31 Laps
21 LMGTE Am Aston Martin Racing Paul DALLA LANA Pedro LAMY Mathias LAUDA 31 Laps
22 LMGTE Am Dempsey-Proton Racing Christian RIED Matteo CAIROLI Marvin DIENST 31 Laps
23 LMP1-H Toyota Gazoo Racing Mike CONWAY Kamui KOBAYASHI Jose Maria LOPEZ 38 Laps
24 LMGTE Am Gulf Racing UK Michael WAINWRIGHT Benjamin BARKER Nicholas FOSTER 54 Laps
25 LMGTE Am Spirit of Race Thomas FLOHR Francesco CASTELLACCI Miguel MOLINA 32 Laps
26 LMP1 Bykolles Racing Team Oliver WEBB Dominik KRAIHAMER James ROSSITER 42 Laps
27 LMGTE Pro Porsche GT Team Michael CHRISTENSEN Kevin ESTRE 102 Laps

Press Release