Jorge Martin edges out Aleix Espargaro to MotoGP pole in Qatar GP by 0.083s, as Enea Bastianini is close behind.

Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Ducati) will start the first Grand Prix of the year on pole position, setting a magical 1:50.789 – becoming the fastest rider ever to lap the Lusail International Circuit. Aleix Espargaro completed a stunning lap to Qualify in second position, just 0.083 behind Martin. Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo Team) rounded out the front row in a brilliant result for the Italian.

You could feel the tension in Q1 with Raul Fernandez (Trackhouse Racing) setting a great time early on. This time would be good, it would place Fernandez into Q2. Jack Miller (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) also sneaked through to Q2 after a late lap in Q1 allowed him to go 0.010 faster than Johann Zarco (CASTROL Honda LCR), in an extremely close session with the top four separated by 0.128.

Q2 is finally here

The first Q2 session of the year began, with excitement brewing to see how fast every team, rider, and manufacturer could go. After the first run, Jorge Martin was the fastest rider circulating, setting a remarkable 1:50.789 on his second lap. Ducatis locked out the top five positions early on, with Miller and Pedro Acosta (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) hoping to find time on their second run.

In the closing moments of the session red sectors were everywhere with the pace beginning to heat up as Aleix Espargaro jumped into second – unable to match Martin’s time. Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) went into fourth, as Raul Fernandez crashed at turn six, ending his Qualifying early.

Heading the second row will be Brad Binder with the #33 ending the session just 0.38 from the front row of the grid. Alongside Binder will be reigning World Champion, Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) who starts from fifth. Marc Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP) rounds off the second row, whose Ducati debut becomes one step closer.

Fabio Di Giannantonio (Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team) will head the third row of the grid, in front of rookie Pedro Acosta who will start eighth. Alex Marquez will round out the third row after he couldn’t replicate his time in Practice. Meanwhile, Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) and Marco Bezzecchi (Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team) did not make it to Q2 and are forced to start 15th and 16th.


[Note: The story is as per press release]