Mercedes AMG confirms their line-up for the upcoming DTM season, featuring six drivers and one reserve driver.

The only driver who was sure to have a seat with Mercedes was former Audi driver Edoardo Mortara, runner-up last season who announced his move from Audi to Mercedes by the end of 2016. He comments:

“I’m looking forward to the 2017 season and to work with my new teammates. We have a number of experienced drivers who I’ve enjoyed competing against in the past. I am convinced that together we can deliver excellent results for the team. It is important to have speedy teammates, because that raises the level of performance for everyone.”

Four Mercedes drivers from last year remain in the team: Robert Wickens who raced with Team HWA I and was the best Mercedes driver last season with a fourth place, Paul Di Resta who raced with Team HWA II, Gary Paffet who raced with ART and Lucas Auer who won the battle with Vietoris within Team Mücke which disappears for this season.

The major surprise of this line-up comes from the return of Maro Engel who raced in DTM from 2008 to 2011, getting a twelfth place overall as best season result. He comments:

“I am very pleased that I’ve been able to battle my way back into the squad over the past few years and that I now have a chance to prove myself in the coming season.”

Maro Engel, involved in the Formula E championship with Venturi, will have to deal with a clash between the e-Prix of Brussels and the DTM round of Norisring. If he chooses Formula E over DTM, he would be replaced by the 2016 F3 runner-up Maximilian Günther who, despise not entering the Mercedes young driver programme, would remain attached to Mercedes.

Although the first race of the year will take place in Hockenheim on the 6th of May, the first tests of the year will take place in Portimao next month before Vallelunga and Hockenheim.