Robert Shwartzman has taken his first pole position of the season in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Monza (Italy). Gabriel Aurby will start along the Russian in the first row of the grid, will Will Palmer starts from third place.

After a season were the qualifying system changed, the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 today returned to its classic system of 2 groups of 15 drivers, that had 15 minutes to set a lap time.

In the first group, Zane Goddard (Arden Motorsport) started leading the way before the Red Bull Junior driver, Richard Verschoor (MP Motorsport) was going to take the lead.

With 5 minutes remaining, Sacha Fenestraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) started to improve his lap times and everything looked fine for the Frenchman to take the pole position but, his former team mate in Tech 1 Racing, Gabriel Aubry beat his compatriot to set the provisional pole position with a lap time of 1:49.051.

In the second group, early lead for Presley Martono (Mark Burdett Motorsport) who then saw how French F4 champion, Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) took the first place.

But nobody was able to stop the SMP Racing Junior driver, Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP) who dominated the latest minutes of the session, to take his maiden pole position in the series.


1 Shwartzman                   2 Aubry

3 Palmer                             4 Fenestraz

5 Peroni                              6 Defourny

7 Ye                                       8 Fewtrell

9 Chaves                             10 Vartanyan

11 Ticktum                         12 Verschoor

13 Maxwell                        14 Saucy

15 Leeds                             16 Opmeer

17 Martono                       18 Goddard

19 Guzman                        20 Pflucker

21 Cordeel                         22 Verhagen

23 Korneev                        24 Matus

25 Simmenauer               26 Pankiewicz

27 Neubauer                     28 Sun

29 Razak                              30 Bird