Starting from pole for the eighth time this year, Sacha Fenestraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) took a first step towards the Formula Renault Eurocup title this Sunday with the win at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. Second place Will Palmer (R-ace GP) is now the only driver who stands in the way of the Frenchman taking the crown next month in Barcelona. Max Defourny (R-ace GP) completes the podium while Red Bull Junior driver Neil Verhagen (MP Motorsport) is victorious in the rookie category.

On Friday, the second qualifying session saw Sacha Fenestraz claim his eighth pole of the season. The leader in the general classification started ahead of Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP), Will Palmer, Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing) and Renault Sport Academy member Max Fewtrell (Tech 1 Racing).

Fenestraz seals win number six of the season

Sacha Fenestraz led from pole before Robert Shwartzman, Will Palmer and Gabriel Aubry all posed a threat at Combes. While the leader stayed in front, Will Palmer overtook Robert Shwartzman. Further back, Max Defourny, Max Fewtrell and Richard Verschoor (MP Motorsport) all surprised Gabriel Aubry before the safety car came out following the incident between Luis Leeds (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Charles Milesi (R-ace GP).

After the restart at the end of lap three, Sacha Fenestraz held Will Palmer at bay. On the following lap, Robert Shwartzman lost all hope of winning the title when he made contact with Richard Verschoor. Max Defourny inherited third place before being passed by Max Fewtrell on the penultimate lap.

In the lead, Sacha Fenestraz pulled away from Will Palmer to take the win ahead of the Briton. Third place finisher Max Fewtrell was penalized ten seconds and dropped to ninth place for moving before the race start signal was given.

Max Defourny moved up to third ahead of Gabriel Aubry and rookie Neil Verhagen (MP Motorsport). Jarno Opmeer (MP Motorsport) finished a season best sixth ahead of Daniel Ticktum (Arden Motorsport) and Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing). Initially tenth, Alex Peroni (Fortec Motorsports) received a five-second penalty as he left the track and gained an advantage. Alexander Vartanyan (JD Motorsport) inherited the final point on offer.