Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) takes pole position again at Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia. The Spaniard is followed by Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Andrea Dovisiozo (Ducati) who complete the top 3.

In Q1 we see Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Danilo Petrucci (OCTO Pramac Racing), Scott Redding (OCTO Pramac Racing) and Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) being very strong in the first run. Rins being the quickest of them in the 1st run, while P. Espargaro not happy as he feels he was blocked by Michael van der Mark (Monster Yamaha Tech3) in his quickest lap. The Dutchman, participating in his first MotoGP qualifying practice, was also on a fast lap but it seems complicated for the newcomer.

In the 2nd run we see a lot of drivers going in the red, but we also see drivers like Loris Baz (Reale Avintia Racing), van der Mark and Pol Espargaro crash. The latter one being on a quick lap and currently in position to pass to Q2. Petrucci, who seems to be improving in the first sector, might be a threat to the KTM driver, but, as he misses the last corner, sees his chance at getting through vanish. Alex Rins and Pol Espargaro are eventually the drivers who get through to Q2.

In Q2 Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda) is the first set to establish a competitive time, but the Spaniard falls in the last corner. Thankfully he is able to get back in the pits and out for another run. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati) is then the first to dive under the 2min mark, followed by Johann Zarco who realizes a beautiful lap. At the end of the first run it is a tight battle between the four front runner Zarco, Maverick Viñales, Dani Pedrosa, Lorenzo. When Márquez comes and sets the 3rd best time.

The second run sees no improvement from the front runners in the first minutes, as Cal Crutchlow crashes yet again. With one minute to go, a lot of drivers are in the red trying to improve their time, Dani Pedrosa, Valentino Rossi and Andrea Dovisiozo all improve their time. The latter one being the quickest and taking provisional pole, with other drivers still having room to improve.

Dani Pedrosa storms to yet another pole in Malaysia, followed by Johann Zarco and Andrea Dovisiozo. Valentino Rossi  is 4th in front of teammate Maverick Viñales, they are followed by Jorge Lorenzo, Marc Márquez, Alex Rins and Andrea Iannone who completes the top 10.