With a win at race 2 of the final Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup weekend at Hockenheim, Louis Delétraz has become 2015 champion of the series. Kevin Jörg and Ukyo Sasahara, both tussling for 2nd and 3rd in the championship, finished in P2 and P4 respectively.  Dries Vanthoor finished top rookie in P3.

Thanks to the rain the race was started behind the safety car, fortunate for poleman Delétraz as his Josef Kauffmann Racing teammate Jörg was deprived of an opportunity to overtake. After 2 laps, the safety car returned to the pits, allowing the JKR duo to stretch their legs at the front of the field.

Sasahara had been running third when the wet track got the better of him, dropping him down 2 places behind Vanthoor and Mazepin. It looked to be JKR locking out the first 4 places, certainly filling up the podium, until Nikita Mazepin lost control and ended his race in the tyre wall. For Sasahara, this kept him the running for runner-up this season and crucially ahead of Jörg.

The glory of the day goes to Louis Delétraz though, with a superb win in the wet to be victorious in not just this race, but in the championship. Race 3 later will decide the rookie championship, of which Max Defourny is the current leader, just 16.5 points ahead of Force India junior Jehan Daruvala.