Helio Castroneves has achieved his second pole position of the year, the fourth this season for Team Penske. The Brazilian has a good chance to get close in the championship to his teammate Will Power who has only been eighteenth. A surprising Mikhail Aleshin accompanies Penske in the first row of the start.

The classification has always begun with the Group A and Group B.
Group A had Montoya, Aleshin, Kanaan, Sato, Power, Newgarden, Rahal, Filippi, Saavedra, Wilson and Andretti. Filippi has begun leading the session with the soft tires, but Aleshin would be the leader of virtually the entire session.
Finally all drivers were using soft tires, Juan Pablo Montoya, Marco Andretti, Will Power, Sebastian Saavedra and Josef Newgarden were those who were outside the top12. And Aleshin held the provisional pole.
It was time for Group B, with Castroneves, Briscoe, Dixon, Bourdais, Huertas, Conway, Hinchcliffe, Hunter-Reay, Muñoz, Pagenaud, Kimball and Hawksworth.
As in Group A, in group B another driver of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, Simon Pagenaud, dominated the session. But at the end of session times started down the 1min00s and Castroneves would end up being the fastest and would take pole position.
Pos. Car Driver Car Laps
1 3 Helio Castroneves BRA Team Penske 7
2 7 Mikhail Aleshin RUS Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 6
3 77 Simon Pagenaud FRA Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 8
4 15 Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 7
5 11 Sebastien Bourdais FRA KVSH Racing 7
6 19 Justin Wilson GBR Dale Coyne Racing 8
7 27 James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport 9
8 10 Tony Kanaan BRA Target Chip Ganassi Racing 10
9 34 Carlos Muñoz COL Andretti Autosport – HVM Racing 7
10 14 Takuma Sato JAP A.J. Foyt Enterprises 9
11 9 Scott Dixon AUS Target Chip Ganassi Racing 9
12 16 Luca Filipi ITA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 6
13 18 Carlos Huertas COL Dale Coyne Racing 7
14 2 Juan Pablo Montoya COL Team Penske 8
15 8 Ryan Briscoe AUS NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing 7
16 25 Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport 6
17 20 Mike Conway GBR Ed Carpenter Racing 8
18 12 Will Power AUS Team Penske 7
19 83 Charlie Kimball USA Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing 6
20 17 Sebastien Saavedra COL KV AFS Racing 5
21 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport 8
22 67 Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing 3
23 98 Jack Hawksworth GBR BHA / BBM with Curb-Agajanian 5