Against the odds, Ferdinand Habsburg has won the second race of the weekend of the FIA ??Formula 3 European championship in the circuit of Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium. The Austrian has won after an incredible comeback. Eriksson and Günther complete the podium.

Lando Norris (Carlin) was the favorite to win today after leading all practices, setting all the pole positions and winning morning’s race 1.. However the youngster of McLaren F1 has not been able to keep the three Prema’s at the start, who have overtook him at Kemmel Straight. The British was late in braking point at Les Combes and made contact with Guanyu Zhou which meant the retirement for both drivers.

This let Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam) take the lead of the race followed by Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam). The German would then overtook his team-mate and put a small gap, but Ilott a few laps later would catch him and pass him, re-compacting the group of leaders.

Günther but would overtake Ilott again, who would drop positions to cross the finish line in seventh position. Günther who is currently leading the championship, would see how he would be deprived of winning today after an outstanding performance from Ferdinand Habsburg (Carlin) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark) – direct rival in the championship run who started from twelfth place.

Without a podium, Jake Hughes (Hitech GP) was fourth, finishing ahead of the best rookie of the race, Jehan Daruvala (Carlin). Nikita Mazepin (Hitech GP) again made a good performance with the sixth place, not like his teammate Ralf Aron (Hitech GP) who had comethe chance to be on podium but finished eighth. Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam) and Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) complete the points zone.

In the drivers’ championship Günther maintains the lead with 266 points, 43 more than Norris and 44 more than Eriksson. Ilott is out of the fight with 92 points less than the leader.


Pos Driver Team Gap
1 62 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 16 Laps
2 1 Joel Eriksson Motopark 2.117
3 3 Maximilian Günther Prema Powerteam 3.557
4 34 Jake Hughes Hitech Grand Prix 4.321
5 99 Nikita Mazepin Hitech Grand Prix 7.787
6 27 R Jehan Daruvala Carlin 7.920
7 53 Callum Ilott Prema Powerteam 8.925
8 7 Ralf Aron Hitech Grand Prix 10.048
9 25 R Mick Schumacher Prema Powerteam 12.721
10 96 R Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing 13.328
11 33 R Marino Sato Motopark 20.424
12 47 Keyvan Andres Motopark 20.923
13 17 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 21.468
14 21 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin 26.304
15 55 David Beckmann Motopark 1 Lap
16 5 Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 13 Laps
17 8 Guanyu Zhou Prema Powerteam 15 Laps
31 R Lando Norris Carlin