Jack Doohan dominated proceedings in FIA F2 feature race in Hungaroring, with Zak O’Sullivan doing same in F3.


It was a clean start from pole-sitter Jack Doohan in his Virtuosi car in feature F2 race in Hungaroring as Prema’s Frederik Vesti took second from ART’s Victor Martins with his teammate Theo Pourchaire just behind in fourth.

Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar was fifth from DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa who was on the medium tyre. MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger ran seventh from Carlin’s Enzo Fittipaldi after a good move by the Brazilian on the Brit who was on the medium tyres.

Both the Van Amersfoort Racing cars of Juan Manuel Correa and Richard Verschoor followed in 10th and 11th with MP Motorsport’s Jehan Daruvala in 12th on the medium. There was an early retirement for Trident’s Clement Novalak who stopped in the first sector.

The race steadied on with the soft runners pitting one after the another but there was a strange move from the medium runners as Daruvala, Iwasa and Bearman pitted even before the soft tyre runners with the red-walled tyres holding up well.

The front runners started to pit with a fight ensuing between Vesti and Pourchaire. That was hampered by Martins who pitted and returned to the circuit in front of the fight. Vesti managed to get through him but Pourchaire was pushed off track.

That allowed Hadjar to pass Pourchaire for track position with Iwasa close behind having stopped early on his medium tyre. Post the pit stop, Doohan still led the way from Vesti and Martins, with Hadjar in fourth from Iwasa and Pourchaire.

Hauger ran seventh from Fittipaldi, Correa and Verschoor in the Top 10 with Daruvala close behind ahead of Bearman – the latter duo on the soft tyre. At the front, it worked well eventually for Doohan to win the feature F2 race in Hungaroring handsomely.

Vesti came under pressure from Martins towards the end but managed to hold on second with Iwasa clearing Hadjar for fourth late on. Pourchaire hung on to sixth from Hauger, with Fittipaldi eighth ahead of the two Van Amersfoort runners.

Correa gained sixe places to be ninth from Verschoor who kept Daruvala at bay for long, with Bearman in 12th.


O’Sullivan wasted no time breaking clear out front, bolting off the line to cover off his teammate Beganovic on the run down into Turn 1. The Swede’s attention was on his mirrors to keep Leonardo Fornaroli at bay. Oliver Goethe tried to swoop around the outside of Colapinto, but the MP Motorsport driver fought back to cling on to fourth. Having lost P6 off the line, Paul Aron muscled his way past Jonny Edgar through Turn 3.

Gabriel Bortoleto found himself in a DRS train early on but utilised the slipstream to breeze past Jonny Edgar for seventh on Lap 6. After a disappointing Qualifying, Josep María Martí was on a redemption charge from 13th on the grid. The Spaniard moved up into the points, quickly dispatching Campos Racing teammate Christian Mansell along with Edgar on Lap 8 to move up into eighth.

Colapinto wrestled the final spot on the podium away from Fornaroli on Lap 9, sending a move up the inside and forcing the Italian to defend from fellow Trident driver Goethe. One lap later and the #6 car got the job done, as Goethe swept around the outside at Turn 2, with Fornaroli then dropping further back behind Aron and into sixth on Lap 12.

Championship rivals Bortoleto and Martí squared off against each other for seventh. The #23 Campos tried to pass the Brazilian at Turn 1, but a huge lock-up send him sailing wide across the run-off. Eventually able to get through later that lap, he then cleared a second Trident in quick succession, stealing the apex at Turn 2 to relieve Fornaroli of sixth.

Edgar began hounding Mansell at the tail end of the points. Mansell suffered a lock up into Turn 1 on Lap 18, allowing the Briton to breeze through, with his MP teammate Mari Boya taking advantage to demote him out of the top 10. With just three laps remaining, Bortoleto didn’t face a hard fight as he overtook teammate Fornaroli for seventh.

Out front, O’Sullivan had been in a league of his own, extending his advantage lap-by-lap to take the win by 2.3 seconds to Beganovic and equal the all-time winning record in Formula 3, with his third victory of the season and fourth in F3. Colapinto finished 6.8 seconds clear of fourth-placed Goethe.

Aron claimed back-to-back top five finishes, as Martí’s storming charge was rewarded with sixth ahead of Bortoleto. Edgar wrestled eighth away from Fornaroli on the final lap, as Boya rounded out the top 10 points scorers.

Here’s how F2 and F3 sprint race panned out