The #1 Toyota took pole in FIA World Endurance Chamionship’s (WEC) Le Mans 24 Hours in the LMP1 category ahead of #1 Rebellion Racing.

The new system of Hyperpole, much like Formula E’s Superpole format, had #7 Toyota of Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Conway and Jose Mario Lopez take pole in WEC Le Mans 2 Hours with a time of 3m15.267s from #1 Rebellion Racing in LMP1 category.

The Rebellion trio of Norman Nato, Bruno Senna and Gustavo Menezes were 0.555s off with a 3m15.822s as #8 Toyota of Kazuki Nakajima, Sebastien Buemi and Brendon Hartley, with #3 Rebellion Racing and #4 ByKolles rounding the five runners in the lead class.

In the LMP2 category, it was the #22 United Sports Oreca crew of Philip Hanson, Paul di Resta and Filipe Albuquerque on WEC Le Mans 24 Hours pole with a 3m24.528s lap ahead of #26 G-Drive Racing Aurus crew of Jean-Eric Vergne, Roman Rusinov and Mikkel Jensen (3m24.860s).

In third was #29 Racing Team Nederland Oreca of Nyck de Vries, Giedo van der Garde and Frits van Eerd (3m25.062s). The other Hyperpole entrant saw #33 High Class Racing Oreca in fourth from #32 United Autosports and #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca.

LMGTE Pro and Am

Moving over to the LMGTE Pro class, #91 Porsche GT Team of Richard Lietz, Gianmaria Bruni and Frederic Makowiecki (3m50.874s) had WEC Le Mans 24 Hours pole from #51 AF Corse Ferrari and #95 Aston Martin Racing to make it three different manufacturers in Top 3.

The other Hyperpole entrants had #97 Aston Martin Racing leading in fourth from #71 AF Corse Ferrari and #92 Porsche GT Team. Moving over to the LMGTE Am category, #61 Luzich Racing Ferrari 488 GTE Evo claimed WEC Le Mans 24 Hours pole with a 3m51.266s.

It was a close fight with #77 Dempsey-Proton Porsche ending up only 0.056s behind, with #56 Team Project 1 Porsche rounding the Top 3, where #98 Aston Martin, #90 TF Sport Aston Martin and #86 Gulf Racing Porsche rounding six Hyperpole runners.

Full WEC Le Mans 2 Hours results can be found here: