Richard Verschoor will remain in FIA F2 Championship for another year in 2024, but has switched back to race for Trident.

Trident Motorsport is delighted to announce that 23-year-old Dutchman Richard Verschoor will be back under the team’s banner in the 2024 FIA Formula 2 Championship. The Benschlap native will make a comeback to the Italian squad, after being part of the team’s line-up in 2022, when he finished 12th in points with one win, four podiums, and three fastest laps.

Driving for Trident Motorsport, Verschoor starred in the recent post-season FIA Formula 2 test at Abu Dhabi, held from November 29th to December 1st, 2023. In the three seasons he entered so far, he was always able to secure wins. The goal now is to deliver a competitive season with maximum continuity. Verschoor previously competed in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, where his best result was a win in the 2019 Macau Grand Prix. His career features some prestigious accomplishments including wins in F4 Spain and SMP in 2016.

Giacomo Ricci, Team Manager: “We are delighted to welcome Verschoor back to our line-up. At the end of the 2022 season, he left great memories and we are really proud and motivated to have him back with us. I’m sure that we have all the ingredients needed to run a competitive season. Verschoor is a quick and experienced driver and is known for not wasting occasions. We will do our best to support him and reach some ambitious goals together.”

Richard Verschoor, Driver: “I am thrilled to announce that I will be racing for Trident Motorsport in Formula 2 next year. After our successful collaboration in 2022, I am excited to be back with the Italian family and eager to work tirelessly on developing the new car together. I am grateful for this opportunity and ready to take on the challenges ahead!”

2023 F2 line-up so far:

MP Motorsport – Franco Colapinto, Dennis Hauger

Prema – Andrea Kimi Antonelli

ART Grand Prix – Zak O’Sullivan

PHM Racing – Joshua Duerksen

Virtuosi Racing – Kush Maini, Gabriel Bortoleto

DAMS – Jak Carwford

Carlin – Ritomo Miyata, Zane Maloney

Campos Racing – Isack Hadjar, Pepe Marti

Hitech GP – Amaury Cordeel, Paul Aron

Van Amersfoort Racing – Enzo Fittipaldi

Trident – Richard Verschoor

[Note: The story is as per press release]