Fortec driver Sergey Sirotkin won the first race weekend of the Formula Renault 3.5. This is the first victory in the World Series by Renault for Sergey. He led from the start, but at the finish ahead of his pursuer Zoel Amberg of AVF was just 0.8 seconds. 


The race was held in extremely cold weather conditions, the air warmed to just 12C, the track to 20C. After the morning training in the start list, there was one change – showed the third time the driver of Russian team Zeta Corse Roberto Merhi was fined and started the race only seventh.

However, after the first lap on the grid occurred much more significant changes for a few seconds before the start of all three championship leader, Carlos Sainz, Pierre Gasly and Oliver Rowland, signaled that the engine stalled on their car. Car reverted to the pit lane, and the peloton went to the second warm-up lap.

By its end in boxes turned Meindert Van Buren, and rejoined the race only after the rest drove 15 laps. Winner of second place in qualifying Gasly also failed to immediately go to the track from the pit lane, losing opponents half lap.

Meanwhile, at the start Sirotkin kept leadership, Amberg went to the second position, Merhi – the fourth, behind the driver of Drago Pietro Fantin. 8-lap fought in the tail of the peloton and Rowland with Sainz Jr encountered in the last corner, and then the Spaniard was able to continue the race, and Rowland came down.

Successfully drove the first laps Roman Mavlanov fighting for 12th position with Beitske Visser. In turn to the 20th lap Mavlanov’s closely pursued Luca Giotto, but then made a mistake and missed Sorensen and Sainz Jr. On 25-lap Mavlanov attacked dutch driver and despite aggressive defense Visser, the Russian was able to come out ahead.

On the last lap Amberg able to catch up Sirotkin, but Sergey control of the situation and did not allow an opponent to hold a single attack. Roberto Merhi retained fourth position, Roman Mavlanov – 12th.


Pos. Car Driver Team Gap
1 3 Sergey Sirotkin RUS Fortec Motorsports 29 Laps
2 20 Zoel Amberg SUI AVF + 0,829
3 5 Pietro Fantin BRA International Draco Racing + 5,749
4 22 Roberto Merhi ESP R Zeta Corse + 8,099
5 17 Jazeman Jaafar MAS ISR + 11,993
6 11 Will Stevens GBR Strakka Racing + 22,267
7 15 Marlon Stockinger PHI Lotus + 25,074
8 12 Matias Laine FIN Strakka Racing + 25,552
9 16 Richie Stanaway NZL Lotus + 27,339
10 25 Oscar Tunjo COL R Pons Racing + 31,303
11 8 William Buller GBR Arden Motorsport + 35,015
12 21 Roman Mavlanov RUS R Zeta Corse + 45,748
13 19 Beitske Visser NED R AVF + 52,322
14 1 Carlos Sainz ESP DAMS + 52,753
15 9 Marco Sørensen DEN Tech 1 Racing + 53,216
16 6 Luca Ghiotto ITA R International Draco Racing + 54,137
17 2 Norman Nato FRA DAMS + 1;11,925
18 7 Pierre Gasly FRA R Arden Motorsport + 1 Lap
19 26 Meindert Van Buuren NED R Pons Racing + 14 Laps
20 4 Oliver Rowland GBR R Fortec Motorsports + 23 Laps