Gustav Malja claimed his second victory of the season in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC. At the Nürburgring, the Swedish wins ahead of the pole sitter, Josef Zaruba and Andrea Pizzitola. With a fourth place result, Ben Barnicoat increased his lead in the championship to 16 points from Louis Delétraz, who finished fifth.


Gustav Malja (Josef Kaufmann Racing) was able to overtake Josef Zaruba (AVF) at the first corner to take the lead of the race. Andrea Pizzitola tried to make a surprise move to the outside, but couldn’t make it stick and settled into third position ahead of Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) and Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing).


We saw such battle featured Barnicoat, Delétraz, Seb Morris (Fortec Motorsports) and Steijn Schothorst (Manor MP Motorsport), for the championship fight but finally there was no overtakes in this battle.


After 13 Laps, Gustav Malja take the win. Josef Zaruba held on second place and first podium of the season, ahead of Andrea Pizzitola, yesterday race winner. Ben Barnicoat finished fourth and was followed by championship runner-up Louis Delétraz. Seb Morris, Steijn Schothorst, Matthew Graham (AVF), Jules Gounon (AVF) and Jake Hughes (ART Junior Team) completed the top ten.


With one race to go only Barnicoat and Delétraz can win this championship. The Swiss driver is behind the Briton by 16 points but tomorrow the championship leader starts from fifth-teen place meanwhile Louis will start from fourth place. It’s going to be a great race to decide the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC championship.




  1. Gustav Malja (Josef Kaufmann Racing): “It was a better race than yesterday as I started second and finished first. Once I passed Zaruba I controlled the race. I had a good race pace. I want to thank the team for all their work this year and I feel that the pieces of the puzzle are finally falling into place.”

    2. Josef Zaruba (AVF): ” I had a good start but Gustav was just faster. Miki, my teammanager, told me to look forward and not too much in the mirror. It is my first season in single seaters and it is my first podium. I feel I have grown this season, specially after Spa I got better and quicker. Not only did I win a trophee here but my manager promised me a trip to Ibiza, so I am double happy.”

    3. Andrea Pizzitola (Manor MP motorsport): “I had a good start but just not as good as yesterday. I pushed the maximum but I find it more difficult here to overtake as you loose downforce in the quick corners. I started on third and finished third, it is always good to be on the podium again.”




Pos. Car Driver Team Gap
1 14 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 13 Laps
2 19 Josef Zaruba AVF + 1,491
3 12 Andrea Pizzitola Manor MP Motorsport + 2,110
4 33 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports + 3,985
5 17 Louis Delétraz Josef Kaufmann Racing + 4,626
6 31 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports + 5,190
7 11 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport + 5,765
8 20 Matthew Graham AVF + 8,968
9 25 Jules Gounon AVF + 9,740
10 5 Jake Hughes ART Junior Team + 13,203
11 36 Callan O’Keeffe KTR + 14,584
12 46 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova Racing + 15,209
13 16 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing + 17,924
14 6 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport + 18,553
15 18 Roy Geerts AVF + 28,703
16 34 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports + 28,705
17 8 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport + 28,866
18 53 Ivan Matveev Euronova Racing + 29,348
19 22 Iñigo Bikuña AVF + 39,130
20 52 Philip Hamprecht Inter Europol Competition + 39,884
21 10 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport + 44,788
22 50 Lassi Halminen PositiOne Motorsport + 50,562
23 3 Robert Siska Inter Europol Competition + 123,601
24 7 Stefan Riener Speedfish-Racing + 1 Lap
DNC 15 Kevin Jörg Josef Kaufmann Racing + 13 Laps