After a busy day on Monday which saw 27 riders on track in Valencia, Tuesday’s test sessions were heavily affect by rain, with Danilo Petrucci going fastest of the 11 men who decided to lap on the wet track.

Many of the championship’s biggest name riders decided not to take any risks in the rain with the likes of Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Jorge Lorenzo and Monster Yamaha Tech 3 pair Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith electing not to ride – having all featured towards the top of the timesheet on Monday.

Indeed Italian rider Petrucci (1’42.431) was over a second ahead of the next fastest participant as he spent his second day working with his new team Pramac Racing, adapting to their Ducati machine.

Having not ridden on Monday Drive M7 Aspar rider Nicky Hayden put in 24 laps and ended up second, with the new RC213V-RS Open machine now available to the American. Further down the timesheet Hayden’s new colleague Eugene Laverty was also on track, as he undertook his second day’s work with the Aspar team.

Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi was fourth fastest, but only completed eight laps, with Repsol Honda’s World Champion Marc Marquez completing 16 laps and ending the day eighth.

Meanwhile, having noted that his new RC213V factory Honda specification bike is significantly different to ride than his 2014 Open machine, Team Estrella Galicia Marc VDS rider Scott Redding put in 42 laps on the wet track and ended up third (+1.382s).

Redding crashed towards the end of the day without consequences, whilst there were also crashes for Petrucci, Loris Baz (NGM Forward Racing) and Cal Crutchlow (CWM LCR Honda). Crutchlow crashed early in his only run, not marking a lap time and deciding not to go back out for a second outing.

Crutchlow after dropping this morning with his new CWM LCR Honda.

Factory Aprilia Gresini pair Alvaro Bautista and Marco Melandri – the latter yesterday confirmed to ride for the team next year in MotoGP – both also featured with Bautista the busiest man of the day as he notched up 47 laps in fifth place on the timesheet.

The test will conclude on Wednesday with the riders and teams hoping for dry weather conditions at the Valencia track.

Press Release


Pos. Rider   Team Motorbike Laps Time Gap
1 9 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 23 1:42,431
2 69 Nicky Hayden USA Drive M7 Aspar Honda 44 1:43,598 + 1,167
3 45 Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Honda 42 1:43,813 + 1,382
4 46 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 13 1:43,813 + 1,382
5 19 Alvaro Bautista SPA Factory Aprilia Gresini Aprillia 49 1:43,827 + 1,396
6 68 Yonny Hernández COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati 19 1:44,432 + 2,001
7 33 Marco Melandri ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini Aprillia 24 1:44,873 + 2,442
8 93 Marc Márquez SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 17 1:45,715 + 3,284
9 76 Loris Baz FRA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha 32 1:46,143 + 3,712
10 50 Eugene Laverty GBR Drive M7 Aspar Honda 26 1:46,871 + 4,440
NC 15 Alex De Angelis RSM Octo IodaRacing Team ART   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 17 Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Honda   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 25 Maverick Viñales SPA Team Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 26 Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 29 Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team Ducati   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 35 Cal Crutchlow GBR CWM LCR Honda Ducati   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 38 Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 4 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team Ducati   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 41 Aleix Espargaró SPA Team Suzuki MotoGP Suzuki   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 43 Jack Miller AUS CWM LCR Honda Honda   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 44 Pol Espargaró SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 51 Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Test Team Ducati   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 6 Stefan Bradl GER NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 63 Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing Avintia   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 66 Alexander Hofmann GER Aprillia Test Team Aprillia   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 8 Héctor Barberá SPA Avintia Racing Avintia   0:00:00 + 0,000
NC 99 Jorge Lorenzo SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha   0:00:00 + 0,000