Simon Pagenaud has achieved the pole position for the IndyCar race at Auto Club Speedway. Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti will accompany the American in the first row of the start.


Championship leader, Juan Pablo Montoya, was the one who opened the standings with a swing of 217,250 MPH. A classification that began late. After the lap of Rahal, Simon Pagenaud got to beat his teammate at Team Penske to climb to first place.

The French kept the first place despite the good lap of the champion Will Power which stood in third place, completing a top 3 after 6 Penske cars with the lap completed.

Unthreatening was the pace of Honda. They showed the only woman in the championship, Pippa Mann, who placed his Dale Coyne Racing last, also lamentable performance of the best Honda driver this year, Graham Rahal.

Helio Castroneves, who last year took pole position this year had to settle for second provisional position, again completing a TOP4 for Penske. But Tony Kanaan, who won the race last year, took care to avoid this possible overtaking, exceeding the time of Power for the fourth.

The only team to deal with Penske was the Ganassi, whose young driver, Sage Karam, got the provisional sixth place, just behind the Penske and Kanaan. Better still did Ed Carpenter, winner of the 2012 edition of Indianapolis; the driver climbed to third place.

Takuma Sato became the best Honda in a difficult lap. It was also good for Scott Dixon who stood in fifth place, as the best Ganassi.

But surprisingly, Marco Andretti time this year is taking the role of first driver Andretti Autosport. The American got third behind Castroneves and Pagenaud, both of them having an incredibly fast time. The Frenchman got the pole position, his first of the season.