Sam Bird has taken his maiden pole position in FIA Formula E. The Briton was the fastest in the superPole shootout, finishing in front of Prost and Da Costa. Buemi due to a mistake will start last, as his rival Di Grassi starts from 7th place. Everything is possible for today’s race in Buenos Aires as we saw last year.

The qualifying for Buenos Aires ePrix was very accidental. But as always the qualifying was divide with four groups.

In Group A were driving the DS Virgin’s, the Venturi’s cars and Nick Heidfeld. Frenchman Stéphane Sarrazin (Venturi Racing) took the fastest time in front of Sam Bird (DS Virgin) and Mike Conway (Venturi Racing).

Sarrazin keep the top position until the end of the qualifying, but theoretically in second group with Sébastien Buemi, Sarrazin would have lost the top place. The Renault e.Dams driver made a mistake at the end of sector 3 that makes him start from last position.

The third group was the most accidental one. Bruno Senna (Mahindra Racing) and Salvador Duran (Team Aguri) crashed out at the end of the session. Robin Frijns (Andretti Autosport) took an interesting fifth place, to finish as the best of his group.

Finally on group 4, everyone expected to see Lucas di Grassi (ABT Shaeffler Audi Sport) on top, but the pressure was something that the Brazilian couldn’t deal with. He finished on seventh spot, as Da Costa (Team Aguri) assures his access to the SuperPole shootout.

In super pole, Sam Bird who was the second to do his lap took the pole position in front of Nicolas Prost and Antonio Felix Da Costa. Venturi cars of Sarrazin and Conway completes the top 10 and reaffirm the good pace of Venturi power engine.

Pos. Car Driver Team Lap Time
1 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:9,420
2 8 Nicolas Prost Renault e.Dams 1:9,751 + 0,331
3 55 Antonio Felix da Costa Team Aguri 1:9,761 + 0,341
4 4 Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi Racing 1:10,298 + 0,878
5 12 Mike Conway Venturi Racing 1:12,391 + 2,971
6 27 Simona de Silvestro Andretti Autosport 1:9,616
7 11 Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 1:9,677
8 66 Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 1:9,814
9 1 Nelson Piquet NEXTEV TCR 1:9,931
10 7 Jerome D’Ambrossio Dragon Racing 1:10,067
11 88 Oliver Turvey NEXTEV TCR 1:10,126
12 6 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 1:10,130
13 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 1:10,321
14 28 Robin Frijns Andretti Autosport 1:10,446
15 25 Jean Éric Vergne DS Virgin Racing 1:10,581
16 21 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 1:11,306
17 77 Salvador Durán Team Aguri 1:13,256
18 9 Sébastien Buemi Renault e.Dams 1:19,421