Mahindra Racing has revealed an all-red Formula E livery for the 2022 season with focus on its new Born EV global electric initiative.

Having used the white and red combination for long in Formula E, Mahindra has switched to an all-red machine for the 2021/22 season – named M7Electro. The car was unveiled at the new state-of-the-art ZF factory in Shirley, Birmingham.

Mahindra also noted about its ‘Born EV’ initiative which is a global level work of electric vehicles. “The new dynamic Mahindra wordmark reflects the sleeker, more tech-focused Mahindra of today,” said Asha Kharga.

“The new Born EV logo is electric-in-motion, it feels like a force of red and silver energy passed by in high-speed. It reflects our focus and commitment to the electric revolution. By sporting the new identity, the race team has become the first of Mahindra companies to have its assets adorned with the new brand identity elements.”

Mahindra has a new driver line-up of Alexander Sims and Oliver Rowland, with the latter joining alongside Jordan King who continues in reserve and simulator role, where Nick Heidfled moves into a Special Advisor role.

The former will drive the #29 car while the latter will be in the #30 M7Electro. Sims’ car is named ‘Rath’ (chariot) with Rowland’s being ‘Rowl With It’. “On the cusp of a new season, we are thrilled to reveal our new race car,” said Dilbagh Gill. We head into our eighth year of competition reinvigorated and working hand in hand to maximise our package with the fantastic partners we have; including ZF and Shell, whose technology forms key parts of our M7Electro.”

Formula E 2021/22 line-up so far:

Envision Racing: Robin Frijns, Nick Cassidy

DS Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne, Antonio Felix da Costa

Mahindra Racing: Alexander Sims, Oliver Rowland

Nissan: Sebastien Buemi, Maximilian Guenther

Jaguar Racing: Mitch Evans, Sam Bird

Dragon Penske: Sergio Sette Camara, Antonio Giovinazzi

Venturi: Lucas di Grassi, Edoardo Mortara

Porsche: Andre Lotterer, Pascal Wehrlein

Andretti: Jake Dennis

Mercedes: Nyck de Vries