Lewis Hamilton took his 9th pole position of the year ahead of Kimi Räikkönen and Max Verstappen as Sebastian Vettel will start last following a turbo issue.

Q1 : Following an electric problem in FP3, Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) had to go through an engine change before qualifying session. Six minutes into the session, the German went into the pits, complaining about a turbo issue. With less than 3 minutes to go, Vettel tried to head back on track but the attempt was aborted, leaving the Ferrari driver timeless in Q1.

While Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Max Verstappen (Red Bull) led the field, the Haas F1 of Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen and the Sauber of Pascal Wehrlein and Marcus Ericsson were eliminated out of Q1 alongside Vettel.

Q2: Halfway through Q2, Kimi Räikkönen (Ferrari) was leading from Verstappen as Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren), Sergio Pérez (Force India), Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso), Pierre Gasly (Toro Rosso) and Lance Stroll (Williams) were in the red zone.

With all the drivers on track except Räikkönen and Verstappen, only Pérez and Vandoorne managed to get to Q3. Felipe Massa (Williams), Jolyon Palmer (Renault), Stroll, Sainz and Gasly stopped at the gates of the top 10.

Q3: After the first stint, Lewis Hamilton was leading from Räikkönen by two tenths and Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull). In their second attempt, Hamilton did not improve and Räikkönen improved but had to settle for P2 only 45 thousandths adrift.

Lewis Hamilton took his 70th pole position in career in front of Kimi Räikkönen and Max Verstappen. Ricciardo, Bottas, Ocon, Vandoorne, Hülkenberg, Pérez and Alonso completed the top 10.