DS Automobiles has signed new deal with Penske Autosport to start a new Formula E partnership, as Stoffel Vandoorne joins alongside Jean-Eric Vergne.

On 14 August, in Seoul, the curtain fell on Season 8 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, with the second generation of car completing its final laps on track. Over the course of the Gen2 era (2018-2022), the electric single seaters entered by DS Automobiles (DS E-TENSE FE) have been the highest achieving in the field, sealing two Drivers’ titles (2019 and 2020) and two Teams’ titles (2019 and 2020).

The French team has also set some other impressive benchmarks during this time: 10 race victories, 15 pole positions and 28 podiums. On the eve of the competitive debut of the third generation of car, which will be faster and more efficient, DS Automobiles begins a new chapter of its Formula E story by teaming up with one of the biggest names in motorsport: PENSKE AUTOSPORT.

To kick off this new partnership, DS PENSKE Formula E Team enters Season 9 with two of the highest-profile names in the championship. World champion Stoffel Vandoorne arrives at the team and will race alongside the only double world champion in FE history, Jean-Eric Vergne. “JEV” remains at the French team for a fifth consecutive season, having amassed a number of victories and podiums since joining the squad.

As the first major manufacturer to enter Formula E in 2015, DS Automobiles now continues its adventure in the 100% electric single seater championship, which has always been an important research and development incubator. What the brand learns through its experience on urban street circuits around the world feeds the various teams working on development of current and future electrified vehicles for everyday use on the roads.

With PENSKE AUTOSPORT, Stoffel Vandoorne, and Jean-Eric Vergne, DS Automobiles aims to conquer more world titles while continuing to ensure a transfer of technology towards its latest road-going creations, which will exclusively rely on electric power from 2024.

Thomas Chevaucher, Director of DS Performance: “The start of a new association is always a big moment, and all of us at DS Performance are eager to begin this new adventure with PENSKE AUTOSPORT. And we are starting this partnership in the best possible way by having two world champions in the team! Thanks to Stoffel and Jean-Eric, we probably have one of the best line-ups and also the fastest pairing on the grid. With the powertrain and software expertise of DS Performance, we are now in an ideal position to continue our hunt for victories and titles.”

Jay Penske, Founder and owner of PENSKE AUTOSPORT: “We’re thrilled to partner with DS Automobiles, an iconic automotive brand who shares our ambitions in striving for excellence. This is a major milestone for our team, and something we have been looking forward to for years. Together we will push the technological boundaries in our hunt for performance and wins. With world champion driver Stoffel and two-time champion Jean-Eric, I am confident that we have one of the strongest line-ups on the grid!”

Stoffel Vandoorne, reigning Formula E world champion: “I’m really happy to be joining DS PENSKE from next season. It’s a big change for me after four years at Mercedes but I am very excited to start working with the team. DS has achieved excellent results in the past, winning the Drivers’ and Teams’ titles twice: it’s a good record and one that I hope I can add to before long! It’s also a great pleasure to be associated with the only double champion in Formula E. I believe that JEV and I will form one of the strongest line-ups for Season 9. We’re now in full preparation mode with the Gen3 car and I’m just starting this story with my new team, so these are two exciting challenges for the coming years! One thing is sure: I can’t wait to get back on track, fight to defend my world title, and pick up plenty of trophies!”

Jean-Éric Vergne, Formula E champion in 2018 and 2019: “I’m extremely happy to continue my adventure with DS. Our very first race together dates back to 2015 and I believe that our association has made a big impact on the history of Formula E. With DS and its brilliant engineers, who have been with me for a number of years now, we’ve achieved 28 podiums, 10 victories and, of course, won the Drivers’ and Teams’ titles twice. Over the course of these seasons, I’ve built a really strong relationship and trust with the team, both on a human and a sporting level. I’m also really looking forward to the partnership with PENSKE, which is a huge name in world motorsport, and to forming a solid driver pairing with Stoffel. Today is the start of a new chapter for the team and we are going to do everything we can to showcase DS PENSKE at the highest level. The Gen3 car offers us fresh opportunities to continue to deliver strong performances on track, and I am more motivated than ever to fight for some more titles!”

Béatrice Foucher, CEO of DS Automobiles: “With races taking place in big city environments around the world and a carbon neutral certification, Formula E is one of the most exciting and forward-thinking competitions in global motorsport. For this new era, we are thrilled to seal our partnership with PENSKE AUTOSPORT, a true international reference in the world of racing. We are also very proud to continue our adventure in Formula E with our DS ambassador and double champion Jean-Eric Vergne, as well as welcoming the reigning world champion Stoffel Vandoorne. Our experience in Formula E has helped us transfer technology from our racing cars to our everyday road cars, in order to offer the best product to our customers. Electrification has been at the very heart of the brand’s strategy since its creation. And because this avant-garde spirit is deeply ingrained in our DNA, we will continue to push the limits by launching only 100% electric cars from 2024.”

2022/23 Formula E line-up so far:

Jaguar: Mitch Evans, Sam Bird

Mahindra: Lucas di Grassi, Oliver Rowland

Porsche: Antonio Felix da Costa, Pascal Wehrlein

Nissan: Norman Nato, Sacha Fenestraz

ABT Sportsline: Robin Frijns, Nico Mueller

Envision: Nick Cassidy, Sebastien Buemi

McLaren: Rene Rast

Andretti: Jake Dennis, Andre Lotterer

NIO 333: Sergio Sette Camara, Daniel Ticktum

DS Penske: Jean-Eric Vergne, Stoffel Vandoorne

[Note: The story is as per press release]