Jehan Daruvala remains in FIA Formula 2 (F2) Championship but switches to MP Motorsport for 2023 season.

Having tested with MP Motorsport in Abu Dhabi, it was looking likely that Daruvala will remain in F2 for another year despite the notion of 2022 being his last year. Between then and now, the Indian was announced to be Mahindra’s reserve in Formula E.

He will dovetail the year racing in F2 with MP Motorsport, re-uniting with his 2022 Prema teammate Dennis Hauger, who was announced last year. Daruvala will not be in Red Bull colours, though, unlike his Norwegian teammate.

It will be his fourth year in F2, having finished 12th in 2020 and seventh in 2021 and 2022. MP Motorsport is his third team after racing for Carlin and Prema. “I’m really pleased to be back in FIA Formula 2, and to be able to team up with MP Motorsport makes it extra special,” said Daruvala.

“Last year, I was stunned by MP’s remarkably consistent front-running pace, and in 2023 I hope to be the beneficiary of that myself! Together with Dennis, I’m confident that our combined experience and speed will contribute to MP fighting for wins once again. I really enjoyed working with the team in the post-season test and look forward to 2023 testing and the season that lies ahead.”

Team boss Sander Dorsman added: “We are delighted to welcome Jehan to our FIA F2 team. He has been a consistent frontrunner right from his debut in the category, taking wins in every F2 season he has competed in.

“His experience will be of great value to the team, so we are very much aiming for a repeat of last year’s form. Also, matching him up with Dennis will allow us to build on a smooth cooperation between teammates who already know each other well. With such a strong driver pairing for 2023, I can’t wait to go racing.”

2023 F2 line-up so far:

MP Motorsport – Dennis Hauger, Jehan Daruvala

Prema – Oliver Bearman, Frederik Vesti

Campos Racing – Ralph Boschung, Kush Maini

DAMS – Arthur Leclerc, Ayumu Iwasa

Trident – Clement Novalak, Roman Stanek

PHM Racing by Charouz – Roy Nissany, Brad Benavides

Virtuosi Racing – Jack Doohan, Amaury Cordeel

Van Amersfoort Racing – Richard Verschoor, Juan Manuel Correa

Carlin – Enzo Fittipaldi, Zane Maloney

Hitech GP – Jak Crawford, Isack Hadjar

ART Grand Prix – Theo Pourchaire, Victor Martins