The kiwi set a fastest time of 1:22.6187, less than a tenth of a second faster than Will Power, who finished in second place. Max Chilton crashed his #8 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda causing a red flag.

Scott Dixon smashed Graham Rahal‘s FP1 time on this second free practice session by more than a half of a second. His 1:22.6187 was less than a tenth faster that Will Power‘s time, who ended the session in second place, being also the first of the Chevrolet-Powered DW12.

Rahal, who set the fastest time in FP1, finished in third place with his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, 0.3529 seconds behind the kiwi. Former IndyCar Series champion, Simon Pagenaud, ended the session fourth, with Alexander Rossi, Helio Castroneves, Charlie Kimball, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Takuma Sato and championship leader Josef Newgarden completing the top 10.

The session was stopped once, due to a crash of Chip Ganassi Racing driver Max Chilton. The British driver lost the control of his #8 Honda out of turn 5, making contact with the wall at the entrance of “The Loop”. Officials gave a 5-minute extra time to the drivers due to the red flag.