Alex Lynn has taken their second ever GP3 pole position thanks to a laptime of 1:20,585 set this morning’s qualifying session at the Red Bull Ring. The Briton came out on top of a close session with Alex Fontana and Dean Stoneman where we seen 20 cars separated by only 1 second.

The thirty minute qualifying session got underway with a in a sky covered with clouds and sun. The 26 drivers fed onto the track, following the installation laps, it was Stanaway (status Grand Prix) who was the first to lap in the1m22’s, until Dino Zamparelli (ART Grand Prix) and Alex Lynn (Carlin) bettered his time.

It was a session where we seen a lot of track outputs, Martsenko (Hilmer Motorsport) went off at turn 5, Stoneman (Marussia Manor Racing) at turn 6, Fong (Jenzer Motorsport) also at turn 6, Tuscher (Jenzer Motorsport) at turn 4, etc.

Lynn held the P1 the majority of the session, the British rookie has an small advantage because of last year He drove in this track at Formula 3 European Championship.

After the tyres change Kirchhofer (ART Grand Prix) shot into P1 when it was 5 minutes to go, but it was the Finn, Kujala, who bettered his laptime.

Before the chequered flag, the session were decided in the last minute when Alex Fontana (ART Grand Prix) improve on the Finn’s time but  had to be with second fastest because Lynn become with the pole position laptime.

The opening race of the season will commence later today at 17:20 local time.


110Alex LynnRCarlinGBR191:20,585
21Alex Fontana
ART Grand PrixCHE181:20,608+ 0,023
316Dean Stoneman
Marussia Manor RacingGBR171:20,664+ 0,079
411Emil BernstorffRCarlinGBR191:20,693+ 0,108
514Patrick Kujala
Marussia Manor RacingFIN181:20,744+ 0,159
68Jimmy Eriksson
Koiranen GPSWE191:20,797+ 0,212
72Marvin KirchhöferRART Grand PrixGER171:20,863+ 0,278
827Richie stanaway
Status Grand PrixNZL161:20,974+ 0,389
926Nick Yelloly
Status Grand PrixGBR161:21,071+ 0,486
1012Luis Sá Silva
CarlinANG181:21,142+ 0,557
1119Riccardo AgostiniRHilmer MotorsportITA181:21,149+ 0,564
123Dino Zamparelli
ART Grand PrixGBR181:21,168+ 0,583
1318Nelson MasonRHilmer MotorsportCAN171:21,193+ 0,608
1421Mathéo TuscherRJenzer MotorsportCHE181:21,225+ 0,64
156Jan Mardenborough
Arden InternationalGBR171:21,227+ 0,642
165Patric Neiderhauser
Arden InternationalCHE181:21,236+ 0,651
174Robert Visoiu
Arden InternationalROM191:21,309+ 0,724
189Santiago UrrutiaRKoiranen GPURG171:21,382+ 0,797
1924Roman de BeerRTridentRSA171:21,491+ 0,906
2028Alfonso Celis Jr.RStatus Grand PrixMEX171:21,591+ 1,006
2120Pal Varhaug
Jenzer MotorsportNOR181:21,654+ 1,069
2222Adderly Fong
Jenzer MotorsportCHI171:21,908+ 1,323
2323Victor CarboneRTridentBRA171:22,125+ 1,54
2417Nikolay MartsenkoRHilmer MotorsportRUS181:22,171+ 1,586
2515Ryan Cullen
Marussia Manor RacingGBR171:22,259+ 1,674
267Carmen Jordà
Koiranen GPSPA171:23,802+ 3,217