Double R Racing’s Linus Lundqvist was crowned the 2018 BRDC British Formula 3 Championship champion after winning Race 1 at Silverstone.

Lundqvist did well to take pole in a wet qualifying on Saturday to start the finale weekend on a perfect note at Silverstone. Title rival Carlin’s Nicolai Kjaergaard was fourth with Carlin’s Billy Monger and Fortec’s Tom Gamble in between.

It didn’t matter in the end as Kjaergaard unfortunately retired on the very first lap which meant all Lundqvist had to do was to finish the race to secure the 2018 title. He did better as the Swede took his seventh win and the championship as well.

Lundqvist has 531 points to Kjaergaard’s 446 – and has an unassailable lead despite the second race being dependent on overtake points as well. “It’s an unbelievable feeling,” said Lundqvist post his win.

“It’s just been an incredible year and I just want to start off by thanking my team, Double R Racing. They have been incredible all year and it’s been a ride since day one, considering when you look back all the way to round one at Oulton Park, it’s been a rollercoaster.

“I can’t believe I’m standing here saying I’m champion. It’s unbelievable, I’m just so happy and pretty emotional. I think Tom made a better start than I did and he had a bit of a run with the slipstream going into Maggots.

“But I put my head down knowing I had the corner and the next one. I just tried to push as hard as I could and we built ourselves a lead after lap one, and tried to push as hard as I could from there. Obviously it was enough.

“I didn’t know Nicolai had gone off until I came into the pits, and it was only when I pulled up in front of the team when I put one and one together and realised I had done it.” Meanwhile, in the race, it was Gamble and Monger completing the podium.

The Fortec driver overtook Monger at the start of the race to take second as Monger claimed his second consecutive podium. Fortec’s Manuel Maldonado was fourth having started the race in sixth with Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons in fifth.

The British driver also made up two places, same as Double R Racing’s Krishnaraaj Mahadik in sixth. Hillspeed’s Jusuf Owega chased Mahadik hard but couldn’t get through the defences of the Indian.

Fortec’s Hampus Ericsson was eighth from Douglas Motorsport’s Jamie Chadwick with Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol rounding the Top 10, having cleared Lanan Racing’s Kush Maini late in the race. Two more races will be held on Sunday.