Mercedes F1 driver Lewis Hamilton shared the Sports of the Year award, while Sophia Floersch won the Comeback of the Year in Laureus 2020 award at Berlin.

This is first time for Hamilton to win the ‘Sportsman of the Year’ at Laureus as he joins Michael Schumacher (2002 and 2004) and Sebastian Vettel (2014) in winning the same from F1. While they were solo winners, the Brit shares it with footballer Messi.

The Argentine striker had his first Laureus award as well and he is the first from football. Messi wasn’t there to collect his award but Hamilton was as he now travels to Barcelona for the first day of the 2020 F1 pre-season test on Wednesday.

The win for Hamilton and Messi meant Honda MotoGP rider Marc Marquez couldn’t the trophy and will have to wait for his chance. At the same time, Mercedes also lost out to South Africa’s Men Rugby Team in the Laureus ‘Team of the Year’ award.

In another win from motor racing, Sophia Floersch took the ‘World Comeback of the Year’ Laureus award. The youngster had a massive crash in 2018 Macau GP and spent months in the hospital to recover but made her comeback to racing last year.

She also returned to compete in Macau, one year after the accident, where she raced for HWA Racelab. The German joined former F1 racer Alessandro Zanardi (2005) and MotoGP rider Valentino Rossi (2011) to win the same award.

For Laureus ‘Sporting Moment’ of 20 years, Mick Schumacher driving his dad Michael’s Ferrari F1 car made it to the final round, where they narrowed down from 20 to five, but the German lost out to Indian Cricket Team, who won the World Cup in 2011.

Here’s the nomination list including Lewis Hamilton and Sophia Floersch

Here’s the trailer for Netflix Drive to Survive Season 2