In Q1, the surprise has been the elimination of Valtteri Bottas. Jean Eric Vergne was the first eliminated, and has complained that a Marussia has spoiled his lap. The final position of the qualification has been for Caterham Giedo van der Garde, in front of him, Max Chilton (Marussia), Charles Pic (Caterham), which has surpassed his teammate by 6/10, and Jules Bianchi has been the nineteenth, beating his teammate by 1.2 seconds.

The anecdote of the first round has been played by Lotus and Red Bull, who have waited until the last minute to save tires, and have come out with the softer compound. Sebastian Vettel has made to ​​the Q3 with onlyone margin position.

In Q2, the main attraction was the rain that began to fall in the middle of the session, in the second sector. This has been a surprise to many drivers, who had not yet scored a good time and have had no option of trying to pass. The eliminated ones (16 º to 11 º) were Pastor Maldonado, Paul di Resta, Esteban Gutierrez, Daniel Ricciardo, Nico Hulkenberg and Romain Grosjean. The best time was for Nico Rosberg, who set the fastest time of the weekend (1:36.190).

Finally, the Q3 was raced with wet track, but it was not rainin at all. Only two drivers who did not participated in the Q3 in Melbourne have managed to do here (Adrian Sutil and Sergio Perez, instead of Paul di Resta and Romain Grosjean). Everyone has come out with rain tyres (intermediate). The first position has been taken by Sebastian Vettel with a masterful lap, almost a second ahead of second place, which was the Brazilian Felipe Massa. The third place went to Fernando Alonso, followed by the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and Mark Webber, who was angry about the result. Nico Rosberg and Kimi Raikkonen have also repeated the positions of Melbourne (sixth and seventh), ahead of Jenson Button, Adrian Sutil and Sergio Perez.

Pos. Driver Team Time
1  S. Vettel Red Bull 1:49.674
2 F. Massa Ferrari 1:50.587
3 F. Alonso Ferrari 1:50.727
4 L. Hamilton Mercedes 1:51:669
5 M. Webber Red Bull 1:52.244
6 N. Rosberg Mercedes 1:52.519
7 K. Raikkonen Lotus 1:52.970
8 J. Button McLaren 1:53.175
9 A. Sutil Force India 1:53.439
10 S. Pérez McLaren 1:54.136
11 R. Grosjean Lotus 1:37.636
12 N. Hulkenberg Sauber 1:38.125
13 D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:38.822
14 E. Gutierrez Sauber 1:39.221
15 P. Di Resta Force India 1:44.509
16 P. Maldonado Williams 1:37.867
17 J.E. Vergne Toro Rosso 1:38.157
18 V. Bottas Williams 1:38.207
19 J. Bianchi Marussia 1:38.434
20 C. Pic Caterham 1:39.314
21 M. Chilton Marussia 1:39.672
22 G. Van der Garde Caterham 1:39:932