Carlos Sainz Jr. arrived in Spa leader of the season and won qualifying. Closest rival in fight for the title – Oliver Rowland – started only 10th, but rivals Sainz enough – with him from the first race started another member of the young program Red Bull Pierre Gasly, from second row started Sergey Sirotkin and returned to the series Richie Stanaway.


Start was delayed due to problems with traffic lights – mechanics returned to the starting grid, the race distance was shortened.

At the start Sainz kept the advantage, the second was Gasly, Sirotkin lost several positions, and then out of the fight due to an incident in Les Combes, where faced Stanaway and Merhi. Sergey’s car flew into the air and hit barrier, fortunately, there were no serious consequences. Checked out the safety car – Mavlanov, who started last, rode tenth.

On the restart Sainz kept the lead and was able to break away, Fantin lost several positions and crashed the car – again in Les Combes.

Mavlanov climbed to eighth place, but Stevens and Stockinger were able get ahead of the russian, and then Roman gave way to several positions. Rowland lost speed and rolled into the pits – the second car Fortec dropped out of the fight. Oliver, who on second place in the standings, lost important points.

Sainz won the race, a third victory of the season and increasing advantage in the championship. Gasly with a lag of 17 seconds finished second and third place get Jaafar when Laine lost his position to Jazeman on the last lap.


Pos. Car Driver Team Nation Rookie Time
1 1 Carlos Sainz DAMS ESP 18 Laps
2 7 Pierre Gasly Arden Motorsport FRA R +  17.03
3 17 Jazeman Jaafar ISR MAS +  17.916
4 12 Matias Laine Strakka Racing FIN +  18.861
5 2 Norman Nato DAMS FRA +  19.472
6 6 Luca Ghiotto International Draco Racing ITA R +  27.725
7 11 Will Stevens Strakka Racing GBR +  28.316
8 9 Marco Sørensen Tech 1 Racing DEN +  31.38
9 15 Marlon Stockinger Lotus PHI +  31.819
10 19 Beitske Visser AVF NED R +  42.354
11 8 William Buller Arden Motorsport GBR +  45.935
12 26 Meindert Van Buuren Pons Racing NED R +  47.787
13 21 Roman Mavlanov Zeta Corse RUS R +  54.189
14 4 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports GBR R +  8 Laps
DNF 25 Oscar Tunjo Pons Racing COL R +  13 Laps
DNF 5 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing BRA +  14 Laps
DNF 16 Richie Stanaway Lotus NZL +  18 Laps
DNF 22 Roberto Merhi Zeta Corse ESP R
DNF 3 Sergey Sirotkin Fortec Motorsports RUS
DNF 20 Zoel Amberg AVF SUI