Renault Sport Academy has announced Brazilian Caio Collet as their second confirmed driver for the 2019 season.

After the announcement of Guanyu Zhou earlier in the day, Renault has named Collet in their academy for the 2019 season. The 16-year-old took the 2018 French F4 title in only his first year in single-seater racing – winning seven of the 21 races.

I’m very happy to join the Renault Sport Academy. I knew as part of the prize for winning French Formula 4 there would be the opportunity to join the programme so that was a huge motivation last season,” said Ciao Collect.

“The hunger will only grow from here because I want to show Renault that I’m deserving of a place in the Academy and that will mean having a successful season on track in the Formula Renault Eurocup.

“I will be working really hard to meet my targets and I can’t wait to work with Renault and use all their support.” As Collet said, he will compete in the Formula Renault Eurocup series in 2019 with R-ace GP alongside Oscar Piastri.

In fact, he is the seventh driver confirmed for the series after Kush Maini (M2 Competition), Ugo de Wilde (JD Motorsport) and Lorenzo Colombo, Amaury Cordeel & Victor Martins – all three racing for MP Motorsport.

Renault Sport Academy Director, Mia Sharizman added: “We’re very happy to confirm Caio Collet as a Renault Sport Academy Driver. Brazil has a strong history of producing talented racing drivers and Caio has what it takes to continue that trend.

“He is among a number of exciting talents we have in the Academy. His record in karting is very good and he made an impressive transition into single-seater racing, which he exemplified by his French F4 Championship win.

“We look forward to working with him and in close collaboration with his team at All Road Management over the coming years to progress him through the established motorsport ladder within the framework of the Academy.”

As Sharizman said, Collet works with the All Road Management which is headed by Nicolas Todt which has drivers like Charles Leclerc, Felipe Massa, James Colado, Jose Maria Lopez, Ralf Aron and Manuel Sulaiman in their list.