Will Power gave the IndyCar Series engine manufacturer and team owner/Detroit-area resident/race promoter Roger Penske a hard-fought victory over Graham Rahal in Race 1 of the Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit presented by Quicken Loans.


Power, who started 16th in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske car, overtook race leader Ryan Briscoe on a Lap 60 restart and then held off Rahal in the 10-lap sprint to win by .3308 of a second. It was the 23rd Indy car victory for Power, tying Tommy Milton for 18th all time.


“(Rahal) was really pushing me at the end and it was a great victory for Roger, the (crew) guys and Verizon,” said Power, who climbed to three points of Ryan Hunter-Reay in the championship standings.


Rahal, driving the No. 15 National Guard car for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, recorded his best finish since placing second at Long Beach in April 2013.


“I thought I would finally get that monkey off our back,” said Rahal, whose lone Verizon IndyCar Series win came in his series debut on April 4, 2008, at St. Petersburg, Fla., when he was 19 years old. “Maybe tomorrow.”


Tony Kanaan in third place posted his best finish of the season, as did Justin Wilson in fourth. Verizon P1 Award winner Helio Castroneves, who led a field-high 30 laps, finished fifth.