Porsche Motorsport has announced the retention of Pascal Wehrlein and Antonio Felix da Costa for the 2023/24 Formula E season.

The countdown to season 10 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship begins with the official test in Valencia from 24 to 27 October. The TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team will conduct tests at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo with Pascal Wehrlein and António Félix da Costa, who will return in 2024 to compete as teammates in the Porsche 99X Electric. The first race of the new season will be contested at the Mexico City E-Prix on 23 January 2024.

For the eleven teams and 22 drivers tackling the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, the tests in Valencia are an important benchmark to gauge where they stand before the new season gets underway. Six test sessions are planned at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo. The TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team heads to Spain with the Porsche 99X Electric decked out in the same livery as last season and driven by its regular drivers Pascal Wehrlein (#94) and António Félix da Costa (#13).

While the pair contest their second Formula E season together, reigning world champion Jake Dennis will be joined by a new teammate in the successful Porsche customer team Andretti Formula E: For Norman Nato (FRA), 2024 marks the first season at the wheel of the Porsche 99X Electric for the team owned by the American motorsport legend Michael Andretti.

The FIA and Formula E have also included rookies in the programme at Valencia. The TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team opens the door for Czech Gabriela Jílková to gain her first experience in the innovative electric racing series in the Porsche 99X Electric. To date, the racing driver from Prague has mainly contested GT4 championships.  She  celebrated her first victory in the LMP3 prototype class in Zandvoort earlier this year.

Florian Modlinger, Director Factory Motorsport Formula E“We used the time to take a deep look at last season. We analysed our strengths and weaknesses to gauge the potential that is yet to be tapped in our package. With regards to season 10, our priority was to work on further developing the software to make our four 99X Electric cars even more competitive. Another important aspect we were working on was to improve our qualifying performance. We’ll use the test in Valencia to continue to systematically and meticulously prepare for the upcoming season as manufacturer and team. Our goal for 2024 is to maintain our good race performance and make more improvements in qualifying. Pascal Wehrlein and António Félix da Costa will be joined by Gabriela Jílková in Valencia. She has already supported us in the simulator, now we’re giving her the chance to show what she can do on the racetrack as well.”

Pascal Wehrlein, Porsche works driver (#94): “The test in Valencia marks the start of the new season. We’ve been busy with preparations for weeks, and we’ve already done stints in the simulator. I’m certain we’ve made further progress. Last season we learned a lot, which we can build on now. For Valencia, it’s important to be well prepared to be able to roll out our test programme without any issues and gain further insights. There are some minor changes for the new season. Valencia will certainly help us to fully understand them. Then, we can get stuck in.”

António Félix da Costa, Porsche works driver (#13): “I’m looking forward to Valencia. The test is always cool because all of the teams and drivers are there. This gives us a chance to show where we stand against the competition, to see where we’re already strong and where we might need to make some improvements. The preparation for season 10 is going much better for me than last season’s preparation. I was new to the team last year and getting used to the car. This time everything is easier. I used the Formula E break to contest endurance races in the Porsche 963, spend time with my family and friends and prepare myself mentally and physically for the new season.”

Formula E line-up:

Jaguar – Mitch Evans, Nick Cassidy

McLaren – Jake Hughes, Sam Bird

Envision – Sebastien Buemi, Robin Frijns

Nissan – Sacha Fenestraz, Oliver Rowland

Andretti – Jake Dennis, Norman Nato

Mahindra – Nyck de Vries, Edoardo Mortara

Maserati – Maximilian Guenther, Jehan Daruvala

DS Penske – Jean-Eric Vergne, Stoffel Vandoorne

ABT – Nico Mueller, Lucas di Grassi

NIO – Daniel Ticktum, Sergio Sette Camara

Porsche – Pascal Wehrlein, Antonio Felix da Costa

[Note: The story is as per press release]