Nelson Piquet has done it! The Brazilian driver made a comeback to remember from 16th on the grid to 7th that makes him the inaugural FIA Formula E champion. The China Racing driver beats Buemi for only 1 point. Sam Bird wins the season finale at his home country race at London. D’Ambrosio and Duval completes the podium.

A race to remember, and a season to remember to all. The opening season of Formula E showed us what a high level the drivers have there.

Nelson Piquet after a rained qualifying, he had to start from 16th. This didn’t help the Brazilian but in the race all changed. With Sébastien Buemi starting on 6th, the Swiss was the virtual champion of most of the race, but in the car change, everything has change.

Buemi who was 5th before the pit stop, spun off at turn 3 and lost a position with Bruno Senna. This was a very important action of the race because Piquet managed to do 3 more laps than the others with the first car. This helps the Moscow-race-winner to start the comeback from 10th place.

The NEXTEV TCR driver overtook his teammate, Oliver Turvey with the fan boost, and then did the same with Salvador Duran to finish in seventh place that makes him win the championship for one single point ahead of Buemi.

Regarding about the race, Sarrazin controlled the whole race and holds off over Bird who comeback after a good pit stop that helps him to then overtake the Dragon Racing drivers. The local driver fight for the victory but he didn’t have it. But Sarrazin received a 49 seconds-penalty that makes him out of the podium because of energy use.

Fourth was Senna in front of runner-up Sébastien Buemi and the former title contender, Lucas Di Grassi who started 11th. Seventh final place makes Piquet the champion as he was followed by Duran, Turvey and Prost at the checker flag of the season finale at Battersea Park.

Race Results:

Pos Driver Team Lap Time
1 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 29 Laps
2 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 6,973
3 Loïc Duval Dragon Racing 9,431
4 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 10,147
5 Sébastien Buemi e.Dams Renault 10,689
6 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 11,204
7 Nelson Piquet China Racing 11,561
8 Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri 12,402
9 Oliver Turvey China Racing 14,142
10 Nicolas Prost e.Dams Renault 14,535
11 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 23,17
12 Simona de Silvestro Andretti Autosport 24,61
13 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 31,501
14 Alex Fontana Trulli Racing 38,423
15 Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi Racing 48,68
16 Jean-Éric Vergne Andretti Autosport 1 Lap
17 Nick Heidfeld Venturi Racing Out
18 Fabio Leimer Virgin Racing Out
19 Jarno Trulli Trulli Racing Out
20 Sakon Yamamoto Amlin Aguri Out