Jolyon Palmer won the Sprint Race and is now leading the Championship after getting the pole on Friday and a 3rd place yesterday. Simon Trummer and Julián Leal joined him on the podium.

Nasr (Carlin) was on pole today, but he made a very bad start and lost several positions before the first corner, even though he was able to get some positions back and finish the first lap on 5th. Both Racing Engineering, Coletti and Marciello, got stuck in the grid and had to go back to the pits. Meanwhile, Trummer (Rapax) got the lead of the race followed by Palmer (DAMS) and Leal (Carlin), but he’d be soon overtaken by Palmer on lap 2. Stoffel Vandoorne (ART), winner yesterday, made contact with Daniel De Jong (MP Motorsport) and broke his front wing trying to overtake him, so he had to pit and his options for today were ruined.

In the last 10 laps, we saw a great battle for the last positions of points. Quaife-Hobbs (Rapax) had been 4th all race, but he started losing time and Nasr got close to him until he was able to overtake the Briton. The group behind also catched Quaife-Hobbs. Pic (Campos Racing), Richelmi (Dams), Evans (RUSSIAN TIME) and Binder (Arden) fought until the end, but finally Richelmi was 5th, Quaife-Hobbs 6th, Evans 7th, Binder 8th and Pic 9th after a contact with Richelmi which is being investigated by the stewards.

The 3 first positions remained unchanged since lap 2 even though they’d been very close together all the time, so Palmer got the victory ahead of Trummer and Leal.


Pos Driver Team Gap Points
1 #7 Joylon Palmer Dams 23 Laps 15
2 #15 Simon Trummer Rapax 0,8 12
3 #4 Julián Leal Carlin 1,4 10
4 #3 Felipe Nasr Carlin 8,7 8
5 #8 Stéphane Richelmi Dams 16,4 6
6 #14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 17,6 4
7 #1 Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 18 2
8 #16 Rene Binder Arden International 19,7 1
9 #26 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 19,9
10 #2 Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 20,6
11 #20 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 21
12 #9 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 21,7
13 #11 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 29,1
14 #23 Johnny Cecotto Trident 33,5
15 #21 Jon Lancaster MP Motorsport 34
16 #18 Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 35,7
17 #24 Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 38
18 #17 André Negrao Arden International 38,5
19 #27 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 39,4
20 #12 Facu Regalia Hilmer Motorsport 44
21 #22 Acil Jefferies Trident 48,5
22 #10 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 49,3
23 #6 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 80,9
24 #5 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1L
25 #19 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 1L
#25 Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 7L