The worldwide karting runner-up, Nikita Mazepin will participate with the team Josef Kaufmann Racing in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC in his leap to single seaters.

The 15 year-old Russian started the year in the Toyota Racing Series championship of New Zealand, as a preparation for the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC.

Josef Kaufmann Racing team has an important history in Formula Renault 2.0 in both the Eurocup and the NEC. In 2014, the team became champion with Louis Delétraz who finished the year as runner-up. In 2013 Denis Olsen finished in 3rd place in the drivers’ championship, and also in the Eurocup; Robin Frijns and Stoffel Vandoorne won the German formation in 2011 and 2012 respectively.