The Brazilian driver won his second race of the season ahead of rookies Stoffel Vandoorne and Raffaele Marciello.

Johnny Cecotto was on pole for the first GP2 race of the season, but it wouldn’t last him long. The Venezuelan was overtaken by Felipe Nasr right on the first corner after a slow start. Coletti and Palmer followed them after the first lap, while Marciello lost a lot of positions.

Coletti and Palmer overtook Cecotto on lap 4, while Marciello was getting some positions back after his bad start. Meanwhile, Vandoorne made an early pitstop which allowed him to be ahead of Palmer afterwards. They were both very close to each other, and Marciello would join the party the moment they reached the drivers who had not pitted yet. Both Vandoorne and Marciello were able to overtake Coletti and Palmer, which gave them the podium. Nasr won with a 4 seconds gap ahead of the two rookies. Coletti, Palmer, Cecotto, Evans, Rossi, Izawa and Pic would complete the top 10 and get points.

Alexander Rossi will be on reverse-grid pole tomorrow, ahead of Evans and Cecotto.


Pos. Driver Team Gap
1 Felipe Nasr BRA Carlin 40 Laps
2 Stoffel Vandoorne R BEL ART Grand Prix + 3,8
3 Raffaele Marciello R ITA Racing Engineering + 4,5
4 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering + 7,2
5 Joylon Palmer GBR Dams + 8,9
6 Johnny Cecotto VEN Trident + 10,3
7 Mitch Evans NZ RT Russian Time + 14,9
8 Alexander Rossi USA EQ8 Caterham Racing + 20,9
9 Takuya Izawa R JAP ART Grand Prix + 28,1
10 Arhur Pic R FRA Campos Racing + 30,1
11 Rio Haryanto IND EQ8 Caterham Racing + 31,9
12 Rene Binder AUT Arden International + 36,0
13 Julián Leal COL Carlin + 36,2
14 Stéphane Richelmi MON Dams + 39,1
15 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident + 47,3
16 André Negrao R BRA Arden International + 48,0
17 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport + 48,7
18 Conor Daly USA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 49,6
19 Tio Ellinas R CYP MP Motorsport + 56,3
20 Daniël de Jong NED MP Motorsport + 59,8
21 Simon Trummer CHE Rapax + 63,4
22 Artem Markelov R RUS RT Russian Time + 69,8
23 Nathanaël Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 76,1
24 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs GBR Rapax + 2 Laps
RET Facu Regalia R ARG Hilmer Motorsport + 12 Laps
RET Kimiya Sato R JAP Campos Racing + 39 Laps