Four-time world champions Jorge Martinez and Stefan Dorflinger will become MotoGP Legends in 2019 and added into the Hall of Fame as well.

Both Martinez and Stefan Dorflinger become the latest inductees in the MotoGP Legends Hall of Fame. They will be honoured later in 2019 MotoGP season with the former to be officially inducted during Valencia GP, while the latter during the German GP.

German-born Stefan Dorflinger won the 50cc titles back-to-back in 1982 and 1983 after which he took the first-ever 80cc crown in 1984 and successfully defended it in 1985 to take four career championships which lasted until the 1990 season.

I was overwhelmed when I heard the news I was to become a MotoGP Legend,” said Dorflinger, who has 18 grand prix victories to his name. “I was very pleased, and very proud to join a group of such illustrious names.

“When I was racing, my favourite number was the number one. In our time, it was customary to have this number as a World Champion and I was fortunate enough to have that opportunity four times.

“To now become a Legend, as I said, is overwhelming, and I’m very proud to be in the Hall of Fame.” At the same time, Martinez – better known from his nickname ‘Aspar’ – had his first 80cc title in 1986 which he defended it well in 1987.

He won the category in 1988 again and made it a double in the same year while competing in the 125cc class to register his four championships in the career spanning until the 1997 season with the Spaniard scoring 37 grand prix wins.

It’s a great feeling of happiness,” started Martinez. “It was a big surprise when Carmelo Ezpeleta called me to tell me I was to be named a MotoGP Legend. The news was emotional because it puts me into a group of great riders.

In addition, it’s the 40th anniversary of my first race so it’s a lot of good news and great memories all at once. The riders who are named MotoGP Legends are the best in the history of motorcycling.

It’s incredible to become part of a group of almost mythical riders with such impressive awards like Angel Nieto, Mick Doohan, Giacomo Agostini, Nicky Hayden and so many others. It’s a feeling of real satisfaction.

Stefan Dorflinger is older than me and when I arrived into the World Championship he was already a Champion. He was one of the rivals to beat, one of my objectives, but I have great memories of my relationship with him.

He was very smooth, fast and elegant – a classy rider.” The two will join an illustrious list which comprises of 28 riders already and will go up to 30 once Dorflinger and Martinez are officially inducted later in the 2019 MotoGP season.

The list includes: Giacomo Agostini, Mick Doohan, Geoff Duke, Wayne Gardner, Mike Hailwood, Daijiro Kato, Eddie Lawson, Anton Mang, Angel Nieto, Wayne Rainey, Phil Read, Jim Redman, Kenny Roberts, Jarno Saarinen, Kevin Schwantz, Barry Sheene, Marco Simoncelli, Freddie Spencer, Casey Stoner, John Surtees, Carlo Ubbiali, Alex Criville, Franco Uncini, Marco Lucchinelli, Randy Mamola, Kork Ballington, Dani Pedrosa and Late Nicky Hayden.