The British William MacIntyre has taken his maiden victory in a WSK series for the opening round of WSK Euro Series in the 60 Mini class at the Naples International Circuit. Powell and Filaferro completes the podium. 

The first prefinal of the new WSK Euro Series was everything except boring. William MacIntyre (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) was the final winner of prefinal A in a crazy final in which the Team Driver Racing driver overtook the race leader Ean Eyckmans (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) who was also overtook by Alex Powell (Energy/TM Racing/Vega).

Meanwhile in prefinal B, Douwe Dedecker (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega) dominated the whole race and secured the pole position for the final. The Belgian driver despite having the pressure from Aleksandr Tibekin (DR/TM Racing/Vega) he finished in a clear first position.

Some of the front-leaders did not advanced to the final. This was the case for Francesco Marenghi (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega), Francisco Soldavini (LenzoKart/LKE/Vega) and Josh Irfan (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega).

The final started like prefinal for Douwe Dedecker from who was in the lead just in front of Andrea Filaferro and William MacIntyre in the opening lap. But Dedecker crashed on lap 2 and that allowed the Italian Filaferro to take the lead.

But Filaferro could not keep the top spot as he was overtaken by MacIntyre in a very aggressive way. That put Filaferro down to fifth place.

In the lead, MacIntyre had to keep the pressure from Alex Powell who every lap was trying to look for a gap to get the lead of the race. “The Jamaican Sensation” made a final attack in the last turn which did not work out. In the meantime, also in the last lap, Filaferro overtook Alexandr Tibekin for the final place of the podium.

After only been in the Kart Republic team for one month, William MacIntyre crossed the line taking his maiden victory in a WSK series.

The next round of WSK Euro Series will be held at the French circuit of ASK Angerville from 25th to 28th of April.