Renault has confirmed that Christian Lundgaard will remain in their driver academy for the 2019 season and will race in the FIA Formula 3 Championship.

Christian Lundgaard was taken in their programme by Renault in 2017 when the Danish driver won the SMP F4 title alongwith the F4 Spanish championship. The 17-year-old was retained in 2018 where he finished second in the Formula Renault Eurocup.

He shone in his rookie Eurocup season where he lost only to fellow Renault junior Max Fewtrell. For 2019, Christian Lundgaard is confirmed to continue with the French manufacturer as their junior as he will graduate to F3 with ART Grand Prix.

The Dane becomes the second driver after David Beckmann to be confirmed to race for the French outfit ART while he is the eighth driver overall in the series. “I’m really pleased to stay with the Renault Sport Academy for a third successive season,” said Christian Lundgaard.

“It shows Renault have a lot of faith in me and I’ve been grateful for every opportunity they’ve given me so far. The structure of Renault’s support has been beneficial and I hope to repay their faith by scoring wins and podiums on track this season.

“Formula 3 will be a challenge, but it’s one I look forward to taking on, especially with the opportunity to show my ability at eight Formula 1 weekends. I can’t wait to begin.” He is the third driver after Guanyu Zhou and Caio Collet to race in their colours.

Renault’s Mia Sharizman added: “Christian has been really impressive in his two seasons as a Renault Sport Academy Driver. In his two years in single-seaters, he’s either won or competed for championship wins and that underlines his raw racing ability.

“Despite his young age, he has shown to be a remarkable talent and amongst Denmark’s up and coming best. We’re looking forward to continuing with Christian and progressing him through the motorsport pathway set out by the Academy.

“Racing in Formula 3 is the next step and we believe he has the ability to reach the highest standards on the international stage.”

2019 F3 line-up so far:

Prema – Marcus Armstrong, Jehan Daruvala

Jenzer – Yuki Tsunoda

HitechGP – Juri Vips

ART – David Beckmann, Christian Lundgaard

Campos Racing – Sebastian Fernandez

Carlin – Teppei Natori