Jenzer Motorsport’s Alessio Lorandi clocked the quickest time on day two of post-season testing. The Italian’s laptime of 1:55.734 was set in the afternoon. Finn and Red Bull protégé Niko Kari led the way in the morning session at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Day 2 of post-season testing in Abu Dhabi got underway with a brand new face: Frenchman Anthoine Hubert with ART GP, as well as the return of Kevin Joerg (Arden). ART GP’s Jack Aitken was first into the 1m56’s with the track slightly damp at Turns 13/14 at the start of the day. Matheus Leist clocked the second quickest time for Trident in a busy start to proceedings.

Switching to Arden Motorsport for day 2, Steijn Schothorst moved up to P2 ahead of Max Defourny (ART GP). After the one hour mark, Aitken continued to lead the way by half a second, until Kari shot to the head of the timesheet with a 1:55.949. Lorandi went third at the start of the final hour where the top three remained unchanged in a trouble-free session.

At the chequered flag it was Kari, Aitken, Lorandi, Leist, Arjun Maini, Schothorst, Hubert, Giuliano Alesi, Max Defourny and Leonardo Pulcini.

Schothorst was first to set the early pace at the beginning of the afternoon session. There was a brief red flag for Alesi who stopped on track. Once the session resumed it was Kari who lit up the timing screens to take top spot until Leist demoted the Finn to second. Santino Ferrucci (testing for Trident) then bettered his time to go P1 as he was the first driver to dip into the 1m56’s.

Lorandi again showed his pace as he flew to the top of the timings before Kari re-claimed P1. There was a second red flag when Ferrucci stopped at the pitlane exit. The action was quick to resume and it was an Arden one-two-three briefly with Schothorst leading the way over Kari and Joerg.

Koiranen GP tester Raoul Hyman moved up the order to P2 in the final half hour while the Dutchman improved on his own personal best to lap in the 1m55’s in P1. There was another short interruption to proceedings when Julian Falchero stopped on the back straight. There were under 10 minutes remaining when the track was live again, but there was enough time for Italian Lorandi to sweep into P1 and retain it until the chequered flag.

Behind the Jenzer driver was: Ferrucci, Schothorst, Kari, Hubert, Raoul Hyman, Aitken, Leist, Maini and Joerg.

Tomorrow’s third and final day of post-season testing will run from 08.00 – 10.30 with the afternoon session at 13.20 – 15.50 local time (GMT+4).

Day Two – morning session

  Driver Team Laptime Laps
1. Niko Kari Arden International 1:55.949 24
2. Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:56.119 26
3. Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 1:56.302 25
4. Matheus Leist Trident 1:56.444 23
5. Arjun Maini ART Grand Prix 1:56.580 16
6. Steijn Schothorst Arden International 1:56.638 31
7. Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 1:56.655 31
8. Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:56.805 26
9. Max Defourny ART Grand Prix 1:56.819 26
10. Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing 1:56.844 25
11. Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 1:56.885 22
12. Raoul Hyman Koiranen GP 1:56.904 20
13. Ryan Tveter Trident 1:57.069 30
14. Tatiana Calderon DAMS 1:57.091 30
15. Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:57.207 23
16. Patricio O’Ward Koiranen GP 1:57.260 21
17. Robert Shwartzman Koiranen GP 1:57.303 22
18. Dorian Boccolacci DAMS 1:57.311 29
19. Julian Falchero Campos Racing 1:57.323 19
20. Kevin Joerg Arden International 1:57.499 22
21. Bruno Baptista Jenzer Motorsport 1:58.042 18
22. Tarun Reddy DAMS 1:58.697 27
23. Petru Florescu Campos Racing 1:58.757 29


Afternoon session      
1. Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 1:55.734 34
2. Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:55.814 18
3. Steijn Schothorst Arden International 1:55.942 34
4. Niko Kari Arden International 1:55.967 35
5. Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 1:56.046 33
6. Raoul Hyman Koiranen GP 1:56.065 29
7. Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:56.139 31
8. Matheus Leist Trident 1:56.329 30
9. Arjun Maini ART Grand Prix 1:56.353 38
10. Kevin Joerg Arden International 1:56.491 34
11. Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport 1:56.616 31
12. Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing 1:56.640 31
13. Robert Shwartzman Koiranen GP 1:56.814 20
14. Dorian Boccolacci DAMS 1:56.874 28
15. Ryan Tveter Trident 1:56.881 26
16. Patricio O ‘Ward Koiranen GP 1:56.911 19
17. Giuliano Alesi Trident 1:56.923 30
18. Bruno Baptista Jenzer Motorsport 1:57.062 31
19. Julian Falchero Campos Racing 1:57.164 18
20. Tatiana Calderon DAMS 1:57.255 31
21. Tarun Reddy DAMS 1:57.470 28
22. Max Defourny ART Grand Prix 1:57.518 32
23. Petru Florescu Campos Racing 1:59.316 9

GP3 Series Press Release