Sebastien Loeb, nine-time World Rally Car champion, will race on the 2016 Dakar Rally with Peugeot, completing the “Dream Team” with Cyril Despres, Carlos Sainz and Stephane Peterhansel.


The French driver won 9 consecutive WRC championships between 2004 and 2012, all times with Citröen. After be the driver with most Rally championships, Loeb decided to stop racing all WRC season, and move to other racing series, although he race in some rallies in the last 3 years like Monte Carlo’s Rally.

In 2012, Loeb won the RallyCross X-Games in Los Angeles, and 1 year after, he set the Pikes Peak world record, with a time of 8:13.878 in his Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak.

Loeb also raced in Endurance races. He was second on the 24 hours of Le Mans 2006, with Pescarolo, and he raced with his own team, Sebastien Loeb Racing, in the 2013 FIA GT Series, finishing 4th with Alvaro Parente, winning 4 races.

In 2014 and 2015 he is racing with Citröen in the FIA WTCC, finishing his very first season in 3th position, with 2 victories, and running currently 3rd with 3 wins this year.

Now the Frenchman have in front a new challenge, he’s back to the rallies, but not the same type of rallies that he used to do, the Dakar Rally is the most famous rally in the world. 15 days of endurance around south America, starting the 3rd of January of 2016 and driving the Peugeot 2008DKR.

Sebastien Loeb said:

“I have been used to going round obstacles but with this car you can just drive straight over them, and it takes some time to have the confidence to believe it!”