The day began with the confirmation of the loss of Jack Hawksworth, who after his crash in practice declared to be fine, but then the doctors have not let him race.

At the start, Will Power has become the leader ahead of Juan Pablo Montoya.. Both Penske have led the race for a handful of laps until in lap 30 started the pit stops, shortly after Takuma Sato has had to retire due to mechanical failure. The positions have changed very little in boxes, but things were tight and Kanaan had recovered several positions and has advanced to the lead, leaving Power second and Montoya in the third position.
The race continued without the presence of the pace car, with Kanaan and Penske cars in the top positions while behind at a considerable distance came Aleshin and Muñoz, who could not keep up early. In this group were also Carpenter, Dixon and Pagenaud, the 5 close to eachother. Ryan Hunter-Reay has had mechanical problems and lost a lot of laps trying to solve the, but wasstill in the race.
Little to highlight in the middle of the race, no overtaking in the first positions, and a few behind. Carlos Huertas has had to retire with electrical problems while being in the last position. And then we arrived at the fourth stop, with Kanaan being the first to refuel that made ​​him lose position with Power, which stopped later, but soon the Brazilian has overtaken the Australian, while Montoya remained some more time on track, but in the stop he has failed to recover positions and has been watching his teammate bothering Kanaan for the lead, but still without total pressure. Instead, Castroneves seemed to lose ground to save gas and Aleshin group approached dangerously.
So we come to the penultimate pit stop, Kanaan has stopped very soon and Power and Montoya took the chance to pull and overtake after passing through box, but just in the back next car Rahal has hit a whip out of the curve 2, so the National Guard car has gone to the wall, causing the first caution period of the race. Here, Tony Kanaan has decided to stop when pit lane opened, trying a different strategy, but dropped to tenth.
The relaunch has been the most exciting part of the race, but Power has closed very abruptly to Montoya, earning a penalty which has complicated his race, race n which things were very well for Juan Pablo, while Castroneves seemed to be happy watching Power unnecessarily complicating his world championshi in this race where points count double. Tony Kanaan has continued with his strategy to conserve gasoline, and has come leader with 3 laps to go when everyone had made ​​their last stop, but finally had to go through box to refuel, so the strategy went wrong this time for the Brazilian. After that Juan Pablo Montoya had the race in his pocket, followed by Helio Castroneves, who immerses himself in the fight for the championship tied on points with Power, and Carlos Muñoz. Finally, Power unable to move from the tenth position.
Pos. Car Driver Team Time
1 2 Juan Pablo Montoya COL Team Penske 200 Laps
2 3 Helio Castroneves BRA Team Penske + 2,340
3 34 Carlos Muñoz COL Andretti Autosport – HVM Racing + 2,965
4 8 Ryan Briscoe AUS NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing + 3,843
5 9 Scott Dixon AUS Target Chip Ganassi Racing + 4,693
6 77 Simon Pagenaud FRA Schmidt Peterson Motorsports + 6,010
7 7 Mikhail Aleshin RUS Schmidt Peterson Motorsports + 8,365
8 67 Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing + 8,950
9 25 Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport + 9,447
10 12 Will Power AUS Team Penske + 17,230
11 10 Tony Kanaan BRA Target Chip Ganassi Racing + 22,070
12 27 James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport + 1 Lap
13 20 Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing + 1 Lap
14 19 Justin Wilson GBR Dale Coyne Racing + 1 Lap
15 17 Sebastien Saavedra COL KV AFS Racing + 1 Lap
16 11 Sebastien Bourdais FRA KVSH Racing + 1 Lap
17 83 Charlie Kimball USA Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing + 2 Laps
18 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport + 19 Laps
19 15 Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing + 43 Laps
DNF 18 Carlos Huertas COL Dale Coyne Racing + Electrical
DNF 14 Takuma Sato JAP A.J. Foyt Enterprises + Mechanical
DNF 98 Jack Hawksworth GBR BHA / BBM with Curb-Agajanian + DNS