The Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM) elected Jorge Viegas as its new President following the Annual General Assembly.

Portugal’s Viegas has been named as the new President of the FIM as he takes over from Vito Ippolito, who has duly served his time. He will take up the role of a acting CEO until the FIM Commissions Conference in February 2019 in Geneva.

Viegas’ first role as the President will be to assist the departure of the participants of Dakar 2019 from Lima, Peru. “I am truly honoured to be elected to the position of FIM President,” he said during the FIM AGM in Andorra.

“It is a lifelong achievement for me to see my passion for motorcycling develop into a role that can allow me to make a positive impact on the sport. I have spent many years working for and with the FIM and I am looking forward to a bright future together.”

Following the election, the board meet confirmed Jacques Bolle as the FIM’s Vice-President while Robert Dingam will represent Continental Unions (CONU). Bolle is also part of the FIM Board which includes Giovanni Copioli and Jan Stovicek as well.

Three Internal Auditors candidates were also named with Angelos Bavellas, Francesco Brandi and David Francis being them. The heads of different Board of Committees were finalised too, which are:

Affiliations: Stephan Carapiet, FIM Asia President

Awards & Recognition: Giovanni Copioli, Board Member

Finance: Robert Dingam, FIM North America President

Governance: Jacques Bolle, Vice-President

Human Resources: Jorge Viegas, President

Strategic Plan: Jorgen Bitsch, Board Member

The new Commission Directors for the Sustainability Commission and Public Affairs Commission will be Katia Juarez and Jesper Christensen respectively. “We took very important and courageous decisions in our first Board of Directors,” said Viegas.

“We are going in the right direction, putting the National Federations, the Continental Unions and the Commissions in the center of the decisions. I want also to congratulate the new elected members: Mr. Jan Stovicek, Mr. Jacques Bolle and Mr. Giovanni Copioli.”